Business As Usual: Psychotron Records

in #records6 years ago (edited)

20180703_110513 (2).jpg

Searching for much-wanted vinyl records on eBay sometimes leads you to visit the seller personally to collect the records. On this particular day, once I was satisfied with my purchase I then was advised of a record shop nearby that was doing quite well and was worth a visit.

Whilst I had traveled 8 miles to Boldmere, Sutton Coldfield, it was definitely an opportunity not to miss. Finding the shop on the high street was an overwhelming experience - this is no exaggeration. It's a simple yet potent shop, a front of silver font and black background seemed to lure me into a portal. A step through the door bedazzled my eyes, due to the interior mystical decor - purple hazy wall paint emblazoned with plenty of psychedelic posters on one wall, and a vast array of picture discs/iconic artist posters on the other.

A well-spaced floor with two-tiered racks either side full of vinyl LP's and singles was a nice feast for the eyes as to where to start. On the counter to the rear of the shop stood the owner, Pete, whose approach and greeting was warm and genuine. There were a few vinyl buyers already engrossed in their hunt for prize records. On the well-presented counter were towers of CDs and LPs waiting to be checked and most enjoyable to see already a customer stacking his arms with Reggae 12" singles and LPs. Over the sound system boomed the sweet sounds of some vintage dancehall, whose artist name I did not know - but recognised as something familiar from my childhood days hearing the legendary PCRL radio station coming from homes and cars in the neighbourhood back in the mid-1980s.

I shared a conversation with Pete the owner regarding the psychedelic revival community and how their influence has provoked and engaged new listeners to seek out iconic 45s from the mid to late 1960s. It was a real treat to see that he had dedicated an entire section to this era and I could actually see records that I have only read about.
I began my own search for Funk, Disco and Soul records in his £1 shelves underneath and I was spoilt for choice from so many that jumped out at me, "Can You Feel It" by The Jacksons, "Strut Your Funky Stuff" by Frantique, "My Feet Keep Dancing" by Chic and then I was overjoyed when I had found "This Time Baby" by Jackie Moore. I instantly had this played to believe my eyes and then purchased that item eagerly.

I also was given a copy of a 45 of band who had recorded under the Psychotron recording label, "I Don't Care" by Love Messengers. This featured a cover of Wimple Winch's "Save My Soul", which Pete had advised me that the original artists were overly impressed with the cover of their song. Having later listened to that record, it can now be surely confirmed.

Without a doubt, there will be many extra visits to this splendid discovery of a shop, with Psychotron providing a richly rewarding experience. It certainly lives up to its reputation of being the best record shop in Birmingham!

Contact Psychotron Records via www.psychotronrecords.co.uk

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://musicmoversandshakers.wordpress.com/