Week 12 Reflection - Universal Basic Income

in #reflection3 years ago


The idea of a universal basic income is something that is very new to me. When I first heard of this concept, my initial thought was "no way, why would there be a system to give everyone an income for no reason?" However, the more I learned about it, the more I started to be keen to this idea and the way it could benefit the United States.

What is a Universal Basic Income?
Dr. Steve Trost spoke about this concept at Oklahoma State, and he defined each word. Universal means that this would be for all citizens, regardless of merit or need. Basic means that it provides for basic needs, such as food, shelter, and clothing. Income means that it provides via direct cash payments (Trost, min 5). The plan that Trost outlines would be to have a 25% flat tax for every citizen, with 9% of GDP going to the gov't to use for spending, and 16% of GDP going towards the universal basic income dividend. These numbers would give each citizen $9,000 per year, with a 150% retirement-age premium. This system would dramatically shift. the tax burden upward (Trost, min 20). Now, this does not sound likely, so how could this actually happen? This would have to be enacted via a constitutional amendment, so that it is not something that can be changed every other year, but rather is something that must be done. Also, this would mean that there would be an elimination of all welfare programs - which are riddled with issues anyway.

What are my thoughts?
I think that this idea is really interesting, and I honestly really like it. I love the fact that it really helps those in poverty/low-income areas a chance to get out of their current system and not just be stuck in their situation. Yes, the 25% will affect those with more wealth than those with less, but I just think that it is worth it. If we want to be a people that help those in worse conditions, then this is a very real way to do that.

Do I think it's possible?
Like Dr. Trost said, I really do not think that it is very likely to happen. Politicians are always hesitant to give up power, and this situation is not any different. I agree with Dr. Trost when he said "I think it's plausible... and worth pursuing" (Trost, min 35). There is so much affluence in the United States, yet there is also so much poverty and horrendous living conditions. As Americans we should care about our fellow citizens and do what we can do help. This is a way we can do that.

Source:
https://ostate.tv/media/1_klaiau39