What Shall I Create Today?

in #reflection5 years ago (edited)


Coffee is poured.

The blank page lays in front of me.

It is a canvas for me to layout words making them malleable to my thoughts and desire.

What shall I shape those words into today?

Shall they take the reader soaring to the clouds only to bring her crashing to the earth in an explosion of creative rebirth?

Will those words twist and dive, rise and fall until a wondrous world emerges to take the reader off away from their own dreary world into one of wonder, laughter, brightness and joy?

Maybe today I will talk real, painting a word picture so real the reader thinks it’s all about her. That some how I found her life and have exposed it for all to see. In fact, it’s a life that is all too real for too many and the dear reader has discovered, she’s not alone.

Maybe today is the day I let the reader learn who is behind the words on the screen. The day I expose myself through words and phrases, showing all the bumps, lumps and rips in the soul of life I otherwise carefully shield.

Today might be the day I look hard at an event and write my own take on it. What I like or don’t like and what I think the event will mean to me and others.

Today might be the day I look at a picture and let it speak to me a story all its own. One that I can twist and shape until I’m ready to share with you dear reader. I hope if I do, it brings as much pleasure to you as you read it as it did to me as I crafted those ever so malleable words and sentences into the shape I was able to present to you.

That blank sheet of paper or screen.

For a writer, it can swing from a point of terror and despair it will ever contain anything which makes sense to a canvas for the writer to craft words into a masterful story or essay or any number of styles.

Yet, we’re drawn to it, over and over. No matter how many times we sit down in front of that blank space and come up blank, we keep coming back. No matter how many times we put words and sentences down then proceed to tear them apart, we keep coming back. We keep coming back, drawn to write and to share. Our canvas of words as dear to us as the one upon which an artist renders their visual masterpieces.

I can but hope that one day, I’ll write a masterpiece, what ever that may look like.

Until then dear reader, I’ll be grateful if something I write is something you enjoy reading. For I enjoy sharing with others and it is through words I do that.

Until we meet again.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://idesofmay.com/2019/02/28/what-shall-i-create-today/


the ramble

Until Next Time — Just Steem on

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

I can also be found on Medium & Trybe



Sort:  

A concert of coherently chaotic colorful consonance

More, a coherent chorale, of chaotic chords

hmm no alliteration there right? LOL thank you

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you for running the PYPT curation show, and for providing such wonderful content as this!

It's my pleasure doing the show. If folks didn't show up, it wouldn't be there so thank you for being there.

This is really lovely and contemplative, @shadowspub. It really captures that process writers go through when dancing with the muse.

thank you Jayna.

Sometimes you just have to write words to get the flow happening. I like your words. ;)

very true @katrina-ariel ... sometimes we don't know where it's going to go until it arrives.

Beautiful piece of writing to start off the day.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you for your kind words.

Hi, @shadowspub!

You just got a 0.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @shadowspub!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.092 which ranks you at #287 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 190 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This was a very thoughtful post. Thank you.

This is, indeed, an excellent piece of writing and I enjoyed it immensely! Well done! 💙