International Refugee Assistance Project

in #refugee7 years ago

FB_IMG_15095270482096830.jpg
So I have the best news ever. Do you remember Aya? She's an Iraqi refugee, and nearly two years ago, we put over one million signatures on a petition to resettle her family in America. Unfortunately that didn’t work, and her appeal was rejected. Perhaps it was a blessing because the political climate for refugees had begun to take a turn for the worse. I didn’t provide any updates because her lawyers asked me to keep a low profile while they explored other options. After several setbacks, I began to conclude it was a lost cause and was forced to accept the limits of good intentions. But her lawyers never gave up. Lara Finkbeiner and Betsy Fisher, the heroes of our tale, worked for years on Aya’s case. For zero cost. As a result of their unending advocacy, Aya and her family have just arrived in their new home—Switzerland! Aya can finally pursue the education she's dreamed about. I can't wait to see what she does with her life.
I've attached a donate button to this post. Please consider honoring Lara and Betsy by donating to their organization:
International Refugee Assistance Project . IRAP provides cost free legal services to refugees around the world, just like Aya. It’s a small organization. And every dollar goes a long way.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1917925618281529&id=102099916530784&tn=%2AW-R