Commitment issues

in #relationship6 years ago

The day was all dark now; and the hustle and bustle of the city had dipped.
We sat in silence now, staring into starry space.
I asked him … “Are you happy?”
Without looking at me he said “Yes”; then turning to me he asked, “Are you?”
“Yes”.
“Can we keep this?”
I looked away.
“Thought as much”, he muttered.

I looked at his green cab in the distance and sorta smiled: “How’s business?”
His reply was delayed. He maybe battled with hidden consternation at how I switched subjects whenever commitment talks came up.
“Well… the guy’s lousy! I’m looking for another driver”.
“Wha d’he do this time?”
“He has missed two returns… in a row fah… And he bashed the car”.
I smiled lazily.

“How did you get into the cab business again?” I asked, as if I didn’t know.
he shrugged. “Car was a good deal meehn! Just need to get an honest driver, that’s all”.
“Why are we talking about my cab all of a sudden?!”

“Well, because it’s clear proof that you don’t make a long term decision on a momentary impulse”.
“Meaning?”
“Meaning that our current happiness isn’t enough insurance to have us take the long road”.
“Whateveeer!”
“I promise you, though, sweetheart, that I am making this demand of life… to give us this… We’ve earned it… By our love… our commitment… our… our simplicity!
“I promise you we’re this close to getting the other index, and then there’ll be no questions. No questions at all!”

No reply from him

I hugged herself tight like I was cold and just gazed.
The night was doomed to end like this. Having arrived here in different cars, we parted ways here. Soon his lights blinked; and I knew he’d remotely opened his car.

images (1).jpg
A sincere good night.
But no hug.

Sort:  

Beautiful piece.

Thanks zizy

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!