Last night I experienced racism for the first time in my life!

in #relationshiplast year

image.png

A girl who I’ve been involved with for a while was going back to Ithaca from seeing her family in Maryland, and she was connecting through NYC and had a very long layover. I decided to take the opportunity to get dinner with her while we both were in NYC for a few hours.

She is black and from Nigeria, which is only important to mention because it gives context to the rest of the story.

I take her out of Port Authority and order an Uber. As we are getting in, suddenly this black guy goes up to her and asks if she’s with me and if she is okay. His implication is clearly that I am somehow kidnapping or otherwise forcing her to come with me. We both told him that she was with me and she is okay, but he kept persisting in asking. Finally she just closed the car door and he walked away.

Both her and the Uber driver agreed with me that his reaction was basically based on the fact that she’s black and I’m white. I’ve never dated someone of a different race before, so I was taken aback that this interaction happened within five minutes of us meeting at Port Authority.

To be clear, that kinda behavior isn’t going to deter me by any means. I was kind of amused, quite frankly. But I’ve never experienced anything like that in my life.