You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "How can I ease agonizing thoughts about my girlfriend’s past relationships?"

As usual, true and kind words.
Trust is actually the most important thing in a relationship. I know I commented specifically about that before, but I'll say it again - a relationship without trust is one that isn't worth having, it usually takes more than it gives, and it's just a waste of resources.
As you said, the past is not real - well, it is, but it isn't. Things did happen, and it's clear that this is the case. However, I don't think the problem in such jealousy is actually the past - it's insecurity.
From what I've been able to gather over the years, people who are extremely jealous and disturbed by their partners' previous relationships are insecure people, and they will never feel secure unless they take care of themselves. That kind of people is usually the type that gets jealous if their significant other smiles at someone in the street, completely innocently. That's a shame, because I've seen many potentially-great relationships get wrecked over this.