SOCIETAL STANDARD'S ( relationship )

in #relationship13 days ago

It's been a while I wrote, been distracted lately. But then, something pushed me, incited my thoughts and piqued my interest.

IMG-20240613-WA0014.jpg

This evening has been one of those evenings we call eventful.. I started out getting up from the comfort of my bed as I had not gone to work earlier in the day due to some unforeseen circumstances..

Getting up from my bed was a rather hard task at the time as I was engrossed on my phone but on a second thought,I had to. it wasn't healthy lying all day unproductively so the thought of taking a stroll was predominant in my mind.

I went into the bathroom,had a cold shower , dressed up and left the house to a neighbouring store/shop.. where I sat with a few of my cousins and an older lady in her 30's ..

In the course of the chatting and laughter, a sensitive discussion arose.. something that has always been in the subconscious mind of every individual among the male species relationship wise. A question left unanswered, a thought that has eaten at the very crevice of relationships as regards societal standard's. one which I bring to us today for edification....

Before popping the big question, we need to know and acknowledge that by societal standard's "Men are recognized to be providers in a relationship...if not, he's worse than an infidel".. if tables are turned and a woman is made to pay the bills in a relationship , there's a demeaning effect on the part of a man.....Hence the question, WHY IS THAT SO?

IMG-20240613-WA0056.jpg

This question may seem irrational and illogical as the subject matter is a thing of the norm.. it's socially acceptable hence frowned upon or dismissed nonchalantly even as much as the brunt's of it all are being bored.

A great man once said " when the purpose of a thing is not known, abuse is inevitable". the abuse of this ideology has been deterrent to the healthiness of thriving relationships as the purpose is being defeated..

So looking at it open mindedly and with reasons, what are your thoughts on it ??