We all have Baggage

in #relationship7 years ago (edited)

Who does not have baggage? That is the sole question which pops into my head when I ask a girl out on a date. Well, we all do have some sort of history of our past. Some of us have done some disgraceful things which we are not proud of and definitely don't want our lovers to be a part of it. It may be anything, like this guy I know, he had been in relationships with ten different girls and now when he finally found his love, he does not want to share a picture of his past life with his girlfriend for a fear of losing her.
To explain it further, this girl I knew was in jail once for a misdemeanor. But that does not mean that she is still the same person. Surely she has to carry this till the last breath of her life.
When we hit our 20's, we are too young to have any baggage. In fact, we should not worry about our dates when we enter 20's.Rather I should say young 20's is the time when we start gathering it for the future. But when we enter 30's, we are full of it. We always tell our friends if we meet a new girl or boy, he or she is good but…………
To fill this but we have lots of explanations for example- she is beautiful but she had three boyfriends in the past.
She is perfect but she is a bit old for me.
She is sexy but she is not a virgin.
She is attractive but she has a huge butt.
Is it even possible to ignore the past of the person and enjoy the present?
Well, for one thing, it is not impossible for sure.
Some people accept their past and move on while others repent about it forever. Like this guy I knew who gave a very good example when I asked him about his breakup, "breaking up with her was the worst decision of my life and it took me three months to get over her and move on with my life but down the line I realized how strong I have become emotionally with the passage of time. It's just a learning phase where I have learned to not to feel any difference between happiness and sorrow.
This shows he does not care about the history rather he enjoys the burden of it.
Now the question arises how can we manage to not let our past affect our present or future?
Well, it's very simple yet complex in many ways. The simple way is to move past it and enjoy the present life scenario without any burden of the past. Either that or you may let your past be an obstacle in your way of happiness. The ball is always in your court, it's just that you need to accept and appreciate your past. The moment we start seeing it as evitable as other things, the very existence of it will get extinct much like polar bears these days.
So the trick to a happy life lies in being nonchalant with all the baggage you have been loading all your life. Don't be ashamed of it, try feeling proud. It's worth it.

baggage.png