You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guest Author Series :: A Mental Illness That Actually Helps A Relationship? :: Celinka @binkyprod

in #relationships6 years ago

Thank you. The "not doing" is indeed as important as the doing part. Silent treatment, name-calling, rage talking doesn't help anyone. What's funny is that when I feel I need to rage talk, I go walking and mumble to myself. Then after, I'm all like "My love, I'm so sorry about the things I said while I was walking." But since we're both calmer by this time, he's like "it's ok". Sometimes I tell him what it was I was saying and it doesn't upset him. Because it's different to say that I said this or that and feel bad about it. Knowing our boundaries and when we need some "alone time to vent to ourselves" is important. It allows us to assess the situation at hand and to better appreciate each other afterwards without hurting each other in the process of those emotions being let out.