What are Fundamental Attributes for Selecting a Boyfriend?

in #relationships6 years ago (edited)

There was this crazily cute guy that had a mad crush on me….. Crazily cute means he is dead handsome, he is a hunk.

I can spend the whole day describing him if allowed.

He is tall, about 6ft 5in. Very masculine -He has got a body worth dying for, well-toned; his 6 packs cannot be missed, even in a loose fitting shirt. His voice is so huskily sweet, you would love to listen to him all day. His eyes are so beautiful that I get lost looking in them. I love his hair- curly, dark, and shiny. His nose, nicely carved for his face.

Let’s leave his physical looks and go deeper. He is intelligent, caring, industrious, God fearing, humble, and mature in all aspects. He is every girls dream guy.

Silas is the guy described above but I didn’t see him that way at first. His presence was a major source of irritant and he was one of my least favorite people!

How did I manage to miss knowing he was handsome with lots of sweet qualities for so many years? Meanwhile, I am a lonely, single girl, seeking for the perfect solder to bind my broken ribs.

Before you crucify me, let me describe Silas as I saw him before the scales were removed from my eyes.

· A bad dresser
· Heavy eater
· Overly dark
· Far too outspoken
· Awkward
· Unbearable

I just couldn’t stand the guy. He always got on my nerves and I wasn’t hesitant to make an excuse to leave, whenever he was around. Even his physical looks were not so attractive to me.

Then the eye opener came- The estate planned a weeks’ vacation for the youths. I definitely wouldn’t have attended, if I knew he was on the list.

To be totally honest, going was one of the best decisions I have made in life. I saw Silas in a completely new way. Spending time with him, made me see him for who he was and not what I thought he appeared to be.

Those attributes I considered annoying, didn’t turn out to be an issue. We talked about them and he made improvements. At times, we need someone who cares to point out our imperfections; we are not always aware they exist.

Now the big question- What would you term basic attributes for selecting a boyfriend?

A. Outward appearance
B. Carriage and charisma
C. The secret person of the heart
D. Financial Status
E. Approval from peers

Most girls make the mistake of not giving guys the chance to show who they really are. We are more concerned about outward appearance, his carriage financial status, approval from peers; that we forget to know the secret person of the heart, including knowing if he is God fearing.

Our peers are also as ignorant as we are. They are never around when relationship troubles begin. What we need is mature advice.

A guy who has fine physical attributes, but lacks good qualities that define his secret person, only brings you unhappiness.

Knowing the secret person of the heart is the easiest thing to find out, if only we look in the right direction. All we need is patience and paying attention to details. It can be learnt from the way he relates with children, treat his- friends, family, and people of lesser privileges than him.

Most importantly, it can be learnt by allowing him be your friend. Having him as a friend doesn’t mean you will end up marrying him. So please, do not be afraid of making a new friend.

The best marriages are from those who marry their friends.

If he doesn’t make a good friend, you can always give the RED CARD. Be sure to define the lines at the beginning, then, giving the card won’t be an issue.

Remember, never jump into conclusions. It is unfair, plus you never know what opportunities you are missing. The very thing you are looking for might just be under your nose.

Giving him a chance, is you displaying love, because ‘Love is not Partial’.

Silas and I have been going on for 10 years now, we know we are not perfect as individuals but we are perfect together. I couldn’t have gotten a more perfect solder to bind my broken ribs.!

So how would you answer - What are Fundamental Attributes for Selecting a Boyfriend?3.jpg