You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Religion is about control. Thinking for yourself is the only true freedom.

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

I remember when I was a Christian and still attending church, I had this thought once during worship. I was thinking of the bigger questions, "Hmmm what about abortions? Are the babies saved? Did Noah really saved all animals from the flood? Why are there so many fucking contradictions OH SHIT I SAID FUCK SORRY GOD."

I eventually backslided and gave up church when I started reading more books. Long story short, I just can't believe that all of life's answers, especially the concept of good and evil can be fitted in one book only.

I agree @kafkanarchy84. If you want to know god, life, the universe, or whatever entity, then know yourself first.

And you can know yourself with these 3 simple rules:

  • Try to be happy.
  • Work hard.
  • Don't be an asshole and be nice to others.

That's it.

Sort:  

Thanks for this. Really enjoyed reading this comment and hearing of your experience. I can definitely relate. And your three rules are pretty damn good, in my humble opinion!

Thanks! Religious or not, just respect everybody everyday.

@aldentan Be careful with that though, not everyone deserves respect and tolerance. That's how good people end up used by bad ones. There are many people I can't respect. It's just impossible because of the actions and behaviour of those people.

True, true. I guess we gotta manage with balance and not approach life with cliches and rules.

Solid rules to live by. I would add a fourth, if I may. Make the world a better place than it would be without you.

Yeah, there are many contradictions and odd things in Christianity(in other religions too). I remember watching a scene from a series called the Blacklist. A grown man preached in a church among young children about 2 sisters who gave wine to their old father to make him insanely drunk so they could have sex with him to get pregnant. I was like, "Is this some made up cult stuff for the show or is this real?" Quick search, the Holy Bible. "

I am still interested what religious people would say about this. Or what could anyone learn from this or why is this story special and worthy to include. For some reason, they avoid talking about it if I ask.

" I would add a fourth, if I may. Make the world a better place than it would be without you."

Nicely said that's deep!

Well they avoid talking about it cause they have double standards. Simple as that. I remember dating a christian girl once. EVERY religious rule was given to me, but it didn't seem to apply to her. She was toxic.

No sorry. It's really long. It's a sweeping statement, but this files up "I won't believe everything I see online", much less on the topic of religion.

Wow. Ok thanks.