You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Essays on Religion and Science: The Complete Collection

in #religion6 years ago (edited)

"Do you tolerate it, even his constant attempts to recruit you, or do try to talk him out of it?"

Haha I have tried both and the results vary. When I was a teenager and I was more hardcore into arguing about this type of stuff. I managed to break a Jehovah's witnesses faith by asking him to explain why he believes the things that he does but he hated me after that.

I also dated a Mormon chick for a while (she wasn't a particularly good one considering that she smoked weed and was actively dating while she was still married) and I tried to not make any issue of it but there was always a little push on her end that caused problems. She felt guilty and she thought that by trying to feed me that stuff (I think with the hope of converting me) that she was helping me. That isn't the only reason that we split up but it had a lot to do with it.

These days, I only engage when I am prompted. I had a super Christian friend when I was in school and she was always cool and never pushy so I know that there are people who don't have an interest in being like that.

Then again, at the same school I was in a group in a geology class with two fundamentalists who felt that it was good idea to try to use our forced interactions to "save" me and this Catholic girl and that did lead me to argue with them more than I normally would.

Sort:  

"I managed to break a Jehovah's witnesses faith by asking him to explain why he believes the things that he does but he hated me after that."

Exactly, there is no reward even if you're successful. Maybe I'm just a masochist.