You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The evolution of Adam - Partaking of the fruit and feeling naked

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

When you say "cynics do not contribute" then I disagree... but funny enough you later mention doubters as being your favorite kind of people.... CYNICS is derived from cynical "believing that people are motivated purely by self-interest; distrustful of human sincerity or integrity".

Distrust = Doubt

IF the Cynic can proof that someone is acting purely on self-interest then he does achieve something BUT it is up-to the people to listen to him (if this does not happen, if the person who acts on self-interest tries to make fun of the cynic and all the idiots laugh along.... who is not achieving? Is it the cynic or is it the people who gather around the person whom behaves only for his self-interest that achieve nothing?

Believing that people are motivated purely by self-interest; distrustful of human sincerity or integrity.

https://www.gearbubble.com/gbstore/biznznet this is your webshop..... you made it why? to make money? because it benefits you (self-interest).

The best way to fix your quote is that the cynic is most likely to become the martyr (and why does someone become a martyr; because the people around him DO NOTHING).

(don't think this world is without a new Diogenes...)

Sort:  

Just FYI.... Before I follow someone, I check out their "about" lines. They SAYS A LOT about a person. The quote which evidently upset you, was not originally mine. It was @gavvet's (the author of this post). I got it from HIS "About" line. I found it interesting and worth commenting on.

I noticed that your "about" line is empty and that your profile picture is that of a scarred little boy picking his nose... I'm not your enemy Aurelius. I'm sorry that, for whatever reason, my comments upset you. Peace out.

I hate the quote... Barack Obama used it as well... I have a philosopher that I like; Diogenes of Sinope - he is a cynic; if you say that cynics achieve nothing then you might as well say that "no one achieves anything"; what do we achieve in life?

There is a disease mentioned after him.... insults about cynics are about bad cynics (whom I personally would not call cynics; when you use it the way the quote is aimed you better aim at the MASTER cynic and then the quote becomes unusable ); people who do not believe in the good of others nor of their selves and thus doomed to never believe in the good of others.

I believe you are good. I do. And Obama is a douche.