You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The evolution of Adam - Was there death before Adam

in #religion7 years ago

As I understand Gnosticism, they did believe in a multi-part being that included a "soul." I'm not sure if they believed that the soul survived death.

The Greeks, Socrates and Plato, taught the existence of an eternal soul in man. This was an idea that they got from the Egyptians - you can read about that in this article.

The idea of an innately eternal soul is not taught in the bible.

Sort:  

Interesting perspective. What do you mean by innately?

I mean that it is not part of the fundamental design of a human being. Being eternal is not a basic property of man. In fact, the opposite is true. We are as ephemeral as grass:

"As for man, his days are like grass;
    he flourishes like a flower of the field;
for the wind passes over it, and it is gone,
    and its place knows it no more."

- Psalm 103:15-16

However, the good news is this: Jesus/God offers us permanence if we believe in him:

"For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day."
- John 6:40

But how would you know. What if we are simply experiencing a reflection of another realm, like in the matrix? 🙂

There is really only one way to "know" anything, and that is by acting on a belief. It is called faith. You choose someone who seems trustworthy, and then you act on what they have told you, and see what the outcome is.

God says "Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!
Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!"

- Psalm 34:8

I have chosen to trust in the words of Jesus.

Interesting perspective so you never really know anything? 🤠

It depends on your technical description of the word "know."

I know what I need to know to my own satisfaction. I don't need additional "proof."

There is an overlap between the words "know" and "believe."

For me, personally, I know that Jesus is the God who created the universe, and who "has my back" and will look after me and will bring me into his eternal kingdom.

Knowing those things, I can survive my life.

There's a common saying: "It's not what you know, it's who you know."

Interesting perspective...