Self-Conquest - December 18

in #religion6 years ago

Self-Conquest

The conquest of self is the grandest triumph that man can achieve.

Once a day, at least, recall very earnestly that
“You are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you.”
I Cor. iii. 15


Ꚛ Eighteenth Day of December

In all His dealings with man God shows Himself infinitely wise. He has given him intelligence to know his duty and free will to do it; and this free will He never takes away, however much it may be abused. He helps him with His grace to overcome the concupiscence of his corrupt nature and waits for him with unwearied patience, sending him afflictions, indeed, but only to wean him from the dangerous love of this world, which attracts him as the flame attracts the moth; for the one object of this good Father is to save His child from casting himself into eternal misery and to secure his lasting happiness.

Yet, man will not trust himself to God’s guidance. He thinks, poor fool, that he knows his own interests better and can take care of himself. He will put himself unreservedly in the hands of a physician and take cheerfully the remedies he prescribes, however unpleasant, for he holds bodily life and health to be worth any price; but of life and health eternal he reckons little.

For my part, I will leave myself in the care of the good God, Who knows infinitely better than I do what is profitable to me. It would be folly indeed, not to trust One Who loves me so well. We trust our fellow-men, not our tried friends only, but even strangers—nay, the blind man trusts his dog; and shall not I have confidence in Thee, my God?




Ask yourself: how does this matter affect me personally, what lesson does it convey to me, what suggestion for a better life, how can I improve my conduct; resolve to become a saint at any cost; think upon the eternal years; pray to the Holy Ghost that He may lead you in the way of perfection; finally recite attentively and devotedly the following Act of Consecration to the Holy Spirit:

Oh Holy Spirit, divine Spirit of light and love, I consecrate to Thee my understanding, heart, and will, my whole being for time and for eternity. May my understanding be always submissive to Thy heavenly inspirations, and to the teaching of the Church, of which Thou art the infallible guide; may my heart be ever inflamed with love of God and of my neighbor; may my will be ever conformed to the divine will, and may my whole life be a faithful imitation of the life and virtue of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, to Whom with the Father and Thee be honor and glory forever. Amen.
Self-Conquest. Rev. F. X. Lasance. 1936. @selfconquest
Sort:  

This post was very informative thank you for sharing
you have my upvote
check out my post
https://steemit.com/religion/@mannyfig1956/daily-scripture-1-peter