Self-Conquest - December 24

in #religion6 years ago

Self-Conquest

The conquest of self is the grandest triumph that man can achieve.

Once a day, at least, recall very earnestly that
“You are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you.”
I Cor. iii. 15


Ꚛ Twenty-fourth Day of December

Christmas Eve
Four thousand years had passed since God promised to our first parents that a Redeemer should come to free the world from the curse that had fallen upon it when Adam was disobedient to the divine command. Prophets and kings had desired to see the day when that promise should be fulfilled, but had not seen it. The whole world had long expected the day of redemption. God always is slow in His best gifts. Hence learn to be patient. “He will surely come. He will not tarry.”

All the world was at peace at the moment when Christ was born. The angry passions of men were hushed as if in compliment to the Prince of peace. He never comes where strife and confusion prevail. If I desire that He should come into my heart I must resolve to keep under my evil passions, and the self-will that dares to do battle against the will of God.

But when the gift came at last, it was a gift worthy of the divine generosity. It was a gift of infinite value, given to all and each of the sons of men. It was a gift in which God gave Himself to be wholly ours. That little Infant in the manger is the omnipotent God, loving me with an immeasurable love; my King, my Lord, my Redeemer, my best Friend, the divine Lover of my soul. Oh, would that I loved Him more.

Prayer
O God, Who year by year makest us to look forward in joy of heart to the festival of the birth of Thine only- begotten Son; grant that, even as we now gladly welcome Him for our Redeemer, so we may trustfully go forth to meet Him when He shall one day return as our Judge.

Ejaculations
Blessed be Jesus Christ and His immaculate Mother!

Jesus, Son of the living God, have mercy on us!

Jesus, Son of the Virgin Mary, have mercy on us!

Jesus, King and center of all hearts, grant that peace may come in Thy reign.

Jesus, with all my heart I cling to Thee.

O Jesus, save me!




Ask yourself: how does this matter affect me personally, what lesson does it convey to me, what suggestion for a better life, how can I improve my conduct; resolve to become a saint at any cost; think upon the eternal years; pray to the Holy Ghost that He may lead you in the way of perfection; finally recite attentively and devotedly the following Act of Consecration to the Holy Spirit:

Oh Holy Spirit, divine Spirit of light and love, I consecrate to Thee my understanding, heart, and will, my whole being for time and for eternity. May my understanding be always submissive to Thy heavenly inspirations, and to the teaching of the Church, of which Thou art the infallible guide; may my heart be ever inflamed with love of God and of my neighbor; may my will be ever conformed to the divine will, and may my whole life be a faithful imitation of the life and virtue of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, to Whom with the Father and Thee be honor and glory forever. Amen.
Self-Conquest. Rev. F. X. Lasance. 1936. @selfconquest