Jehovah's Witnesses... It's Been a While!!!

in #religion7 years ago (edited)

Good morning, Steemians!!!

There aren't many pushier people than Jehovah's Witnesses, and they haven't paid us a visit in a while. They come park in front of our gate, and usually when we are outside they try to talk to us. One time I played their game and gave them everything they wanted: I lent them my ear. What a mistake, because they kept coming back!

IMG_4174.PNG

Since the hurricane, we haven't seen them until today!!! What we did was shut the door and look through the blinds. Some older ladies got out and rapped on our gate. I saw them via my security camera. I knew they would leave, eventually, and that's what they did.

IMG_4175.PNG

These people need to get a life, man. Nobody wants to join their cult (or maybe you do???)

IMG_4176.PNG

The thing is, I'm too nice of a guy to tell them to get lost. But they annoy me. What would you've done? Talking to them only makes them come back regularly. Thanks for stopping by, Steemians!

Sort:  

If somebody is bothering you, I don't think it would make you less of a nice guy if you tell them you are not interested in what they have to say.

I personally prefer the conversation approach if someone tries to preach at me and I have indeed enjoyed many of those conversations depending on the type of person and debater I get on the other side. If I get the most unreasonable type of parrot, I usually copy their rethoric and start using it to tell them they are going to hell if they don't believe in Zeus and giving ridiculous arguments for Zeus like the existence of lightning and stuff :P But I prefer the religious people that are open to a real intelligent and polite conversation.

I have had some good conversations like that and some really really awful ones. The problem is I already lied to them and told them I believe and all of this... I do have a bible (somewhere) just for the good stories. Maybe I will give it a try though because it's usually not the same person or people that come around each time.

You are also allowed to change your mind on what you believe and don't believe, so you can always say that you stopped believing.

I usually talk to them. It's partly a game and it's partly compassion. One time they read me a passage from the Bible that mentions dragons. DRAGONS! That was a fun chat. I eventually told them I wasn't going to convert and they didn't come back for a long time.

My housemate answered the door to them once. He asked the JW what heaven is like. The JW said it's like a bank holiday every day. Housemate said he hates bank holidays. JW said, "yeah, me too." Then he left.

Give them some cookies. Try to save them as hard as they try to save you. That's my goal.

Lol. I guess I could try to just really overly nice but not give in to their swooning techniques (if that's what you'd call it lol)...

You should start talking to them about veganism and crypto. I bet they can't give you a good answer about why we should slaughter billions of "god's creatures" every year. As for they crypto, well it would just be interesting.

Yeah but it's not worth it lol

A woman I know sadly told me how since she was raised in this horrible cult, she never had a birthday party nor received a christmas or birthday present until she was 30 years old and her family had left the JWs. That is a horrible way to treat children.

Yep. They don't do anything for Halloween, Christmas, etc.

I'm in the process of publishing my six year experience with JWs. You can't be too nice with this cult. Any amount of politeness is an invitation for them to keep harassing you. They are actually an incredibly dangerous group with known pedophiles among their ranks. If you do any research into the Australian Royal Commission with Jehovah's Witnesses, you'll see what I mean. Don't feel like you have to be nice to them. They only want to bait you in.

This post has received a 7.64 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @vegansilverstack.

Loading...

This post received a 4.15% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @vegansilverstack! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.95 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @vegansilverstack. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.