Renovating a 1865 House in Rural Quebec, Canada

in #renovation4 years ago (edited)

2566061EEE004768B0B1EA50626A411F.jpg

Hello World!

I can't remember the last time I sat down to write full fledge post. This last year, I took a sabbatical from the Steem blockchain only to find myself moving on to HIVE and never looking back.

So What's Up?

So the last few months have been pretty intense. We moved to a new place in November only to fall in love with a house that we finally purchased last month. So 2 moves in less than 6 months all the while having a new addition to our family: Theodore Livingstone Gagne

20200321_205229.jpg

But I digress, we are in full renovation mode and I wanted to share some picture of the process. So as I said, we bought this house which we think was built in 1865. We got super lucky. We got our mortgage right at the perfect time when the rates were going down but the preferential rates from the bank were good. So we ended up catching a crazy mortgage rate: 1.55%!!!!! (If you are looking for a good mortgage broker let me know, the one I have is awesome)

C7B3142D0A94418485CA7B4EFA6EA09D.jpg

So before we move in we had to at least redo the floors because it came in with the old mastic under the vinyl flooring the previous owners took out.

So at first we tried taking out that horrible stuff on the floor with vapor using a wallpaper machine. Which ended up being an horrible mess of glue and cardboard.

IMG_0284.jpg

Half of the room took me 6 hours and I didn't manage to take out all the melting glue...so after a bunch of research I decided to rent a floor polisher with a mastic remover drum. Now we are talking! Still took me about 10 hours to finish the living room and dining room.

20200412_214049.jpg

Now that that horrible gunk was out I had a choice to make. Should I do the whole jump of sanding and finishing on my own??? After talking with friends and looking at my trusted youtube channel for home renovations(Renovision DIY), we decided to bite the bullet and pay professionals to do the rest. We already saved a lot of costly labour time and I knew I could not make this floor look good with my skill level.

Here are the results:

20200423_161743.jpg

20200423_161641.jpg

IMG_0499.jpg

I'm particularly happy about that last one image, this is going to be my office. Those old pine floorboards that are more than a hundred year old have the most incredible colour to it. 🤗

Now we are not out of the woodwork just yet but that's a foretaste of what we have been up to.

Question

Are there any die hard DIY renovation guys and gals here? Should we start a community?
Let me know in the comment section.

Sort:  

I'd be pretty interested in a community like this. I recently bought an old house here in Chile and have done a lot of work to it, starting at the foundation.

@tipu curate

How should we call it? And how do we start a community on Hive?

I would go with either DIY or Home Improvement? These are both similar communities on reddit. The downside with DIY is that it would include much more than specific home renovation. Not sure exactly on community creation.

You have a sweet family :). I'm glad for your new home. I wish you to sit happily after the repair works are completed. Stay safe with your family..