Dog.

in #rescue2 years ago

We're getting a dog.

Well, we actually already HAVE a dog... This is Piper. She's around 7 years old. Technically, she belongs to my son but she has chosen my husband as her person. She has lived with us for quite a few years now. We never planned to have a dog, but we couldn't let her be sent back to a shelter again.

But. Now, I made an impulse decision to rescue another doggy, because he has a pretty sad story. This is Andy.

This old fella is coming from Chicago to live with us. He has an attorney. Not all dogs have their own legal team. Lol. He has spent the last couple of years living in an assisted living apartment with his owner but she is going into a permanent care setting and is in and out of the hospital too much to be able to take care of him. Her memory is very poor now.

He's just been living in the empty assisted living apartment since April, mostly inside of a crate, unless the dog walkers were arriving to take him for a walk. That's how we found out about him, actually. My sister-in-law was one of his walkers!
You can see his crate in the corner of this photo.

Andy is 12 years old. His owner never married or had kids of her own, so she spared no expense on this guy. He's in great health. We should have a couple of years left with him, I think. We will be set as a "foster home" for at least six months, which allows the attorney/courts to pay for every single thing he needs during that time.

I am working on this post before he has arrived... He should be here in a couple of hours. We're actually kind of nervous. What were we thinking?! :)

We have been told by everyone how wonderful and good he is. I hope so, because our current dog is also wonderful and good...

He LOOKS like he is good...

With only a few photos and a sad story, we are inviting this old fella to come live in our home.

It will be exciting to see how Piper likes having another dog in the house! Wish us luck!! I will post again when he has arrived!

Sort:  

Andy looks like a good boy 🙂 and super healthy and well taken care of. Good luck! Rescue dogs are the best and rescue owners are special too 😉

He is a good boy! We've been sending lots of videos and pictures to his attorney. She's so happy for him, too!

Crate life sucks for a dog. Although we do have to put our youngest in one to for meals. Otherwise she, being the largest of our animals, will bully her way into eating everybody elses food. She's got the idea now and will just stay in the cage with the door open till we tell her it's ok to come out, lol. She's a good girl and I think she understands whats going on.
Andy is such a pretty boy! Got a nice healthy shine to his coat and those eyes are sparkling with life. As long as he doesnt try to compete with Piper for dads attention too much they should get along just fine. Being separated from his human he could get a little depressed so some extra love and attention will make it easier for him. Try to get Piper in on the love and affection with him. So she doesnt feel left out or replaced. Thats gonna require dad to do it mostly since she chose him. My dog (Minnie) didnt accept our youngest (Hope) until I started playing with both of them together. Then she slowly started to play with her. She wouldnt accept Hope with mom or my daughter. Just me. Guess I had to give the ok for her, lol.
Just remember that dogs, even though they have a pack mentality, are individuals with their own personalities. Just like people. Sometimes they click and sometimes they dont. But they both look like they will do just fine together.

I set his crate up for him in the living room which is central to the house. He goes in and out whenever he wants to. I have been putting him in there when we go to sleep because I didn't know if there would be any kind of confrontation or anything weird in the middle of the night and he's so used to being in the crate anyways that he doesn't seem to bother him in the slightest. I'm afraid that if I don't put him in the crate he'll try to break down the gate in the hallway to come try to find us in our bedroom. He doesn't cry or anything when he goes into the crate for bedtime. I've also been feeding him in there too because Piper would happily barge her way in and eat anything that he is too slow to get to. She is doing pretty well with all of this and tolerating it okay but she isn't very chummy with him yet. LOL fortunately she belongs to my husband and apparently Andy has mostly chosen me. I tried to get them both involved in the same things at the same time. Yesterday, Piper even wanted to play at the same time, but not with Andy specifically. But she still wanted to be involved somehow. I take that as a good sign.

Yeah. The crate will help him feel somewhat "normal" since he is used to it. And he most likely attach to one person (you) since he was with only one other human for so long. It's just what he is used to.

Sounds like the two of them will at least grow used to each other. Which hopefully there wont be any major conflicts. As long as they can draw boundaries with each other right? Lol

There was a scuffle. Lol Piper is not feeling well now, likely from stress (and the extra treats). Lol

He looks like the HAPPIEST dog!!!!!! We had a dog that was similar to him - another sad story!! Got him at the pound and oh my gosh - did he make us so happy!!!! hehehehe

It's like they know on some level - that you are their rescuers - and then that makes it a very special relationship!!

I know your mom! hehehe @melinda010100 is one of the most supportive, friendliest people on Hive! hehehehe and I loved your story - so I'm going to share it with a few friends over on a site that we run!

Hopefully - you will get some "dreemers" here to appreciate this post and engage with you tomorrow!!! :)

Can't wait for your special friend to arrive!!! I hope he makes your home even happier!

Thanks @dreemsteem for sharing this in #Dreemport! I need to remember that I can share other good Ecencian posts there!

hehehe actually - that's not an option for members just yet! hehehe

there is a reason for that - but i'll explain in DM and not on here or else it will bore everyone hahahahahaha

but I'm going to suggest to our Ambassadors that they come find her - and see if she would be interested in submitting her own posts! (usually Ambassadors will submit a few times for a newbie to help them out!)

i'll call @samsmith1971 here to keep an eye out on her! hehehehehe

Thank you!!

Yes, we never planned to have ANY dogs, but our first dog belonged to my son when he was young. That dog lived at my son's dad's house, and one day, his dad decided to give away all of their pets or send them back to the shelter. My son's dog was the last one left. And we ended up with her. Lolol We couldn't let her go back to the shelter. And she turned out to be such a good dog.

And now, Andy's story... We figured that since he is so old, we will not have a very long commitment and we can give him a happy life for his last years! And he also seems to be a very good dog.

that is just the best. compassion is in short supply these days. to humans, to animals, to the world!

i love that there are still people willing to extend love to those in need!!! (precious animals included!)

Andy was definitely in need. He had a deadline that he had to move out of that assisted living apartment by July 12th and everyone was frantically trying to find a place for him to live. I found out about him and thought that Piper might like to have a friend! Piper is saying she does not want a friend... 😆😆😆

Andy looks do much healthier. I can probably tell he has got a good healthy food for him. Dogs are to be set free and not used to put in crate. Sometimes when guest are there thats an exception. Wish i could have him here with me... he's so cute.. take a good care of him

♥️
!PIZZA

He seems very happy here so far! He is so sad if I go away to work or anywhere in the house that he can't see me. Lol

That happens. They are the only one who loves unconditionally

Indeed I must wish you good luck. It's nice keeling dogs or having dogs as pets but someone like me do not love keeping dogs. I don't like it at all.

Anyways, Andy is and should.be good dog.

@dreemport sent me here..

img_0.6157775970422109

Thank you for the good luck! And hello to Dreemport!

Piper is gorgeous and Andy is just adorable!
He does not look 12 at all:)
I am seeing this from dreemport and I am hoping that by now Andy is settled in and Piper having fun too!

Thank you! They are both very good dogs. But Piper seems to be pretty stressed out the last couple of days. We'll just say that her tummy clearly does not feel well.

Andy is cute and lovely
Had no idea dogs have a long life span like 12 years wow.

I just found out today from his veterinarian records that he is actually only going to be 11 next month. 12 years old is the average for him but he could certainly live a few years longer than that easily. My golden retriever that I had when I was growing up lived to be about 16 or 17 years old. He seems happy so far!

Andy looks like a sweetie! So wonderful that you can give him a better life! 💜

Thank you!! He seems happy. Much better than being in a crate for 20 hours every day.

Oh my gosh! What an adorable dog fella! He has to be the most cutest thing I've seen and he has that shine in his eyes. He's sooooo handsome. I hope Piper likes him too ... I can visualize both of them going for walks too. Forgive me😅 I'm a romantic at heart and can't help shipping...
Soooo cute! 😍
I saw your post in Dreemport by the way. I love it!!!!

Hello to dreemport! He is a very sweet dog. Unfortunately, they will not be going for walks together, because Piper's a crazy dog when it comes to walking on a leash. She drags herself and chokes herself along with her nose stuck to the ground and doesn't care about anything or anyone except for smelling. And she chokes herself so badly! Lolol

Have you tried a head harness? You can make a custom one to fit perfectly if she dislikes the commercial ones.

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

@zythia13! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Actually, yes. We have one called "gentle leader" or something like that. It does help quite a bit, but still not the greatest. Ha!

Then you need one that attaches to the collar itself, and puts all of the weight when she pulls on the top of her snout.

I forgot that I have a full harness for her, too! She can't choke with that on! 😆

Maybe not, but she can drag you with that 🤣 A head harness prevents both :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

This boy is so pretty😍😍😍

Isn't he? He is such a good boy!

I'm sure he's a good boy

I don't know if I could get a non-rescue anymore. For my entire adult life I have had pound puppies and the thought of getting a dog from a breeder is nice but then I think of the sad story I don't get to hear. The thought that maybe nobody gets to hear it is what makes me call the shelter.

Good for you and good for Andy. Although he looks like an Andrew to me.

Lolol I called him Andrew today when he was trying to break down the gate in the hallway. However, I have a nephew named Andrew, so I will try not to do that.

All our animals have always been rescues, except for some of my rats have come from a local breeder. Most were rescued. I thought I would try a breeder for them to see if there were noticable health improvements compared to the rescues.

But I agree. Adopting one in need is the way to go!

Rescue dogs are gorgeous. Both your dogs are beautiful! Lucky you, lucky them.

Thank you!! He seems happy here! Our other dog is very tolerant of the new dog, but I think that someday they will be good friends!

No doubt, Andy looks happy :) 😎🐕

Thank you!! I think he is! He never had a yard or dog sibling before, and my husband and son live here too, and both of my step daughters have met him now. He has had a busy first couple of days!

Hé looks great for his aga and looks like a good boy indeed. They make a great looking pair and all protect them family I bet. As a mum to two good gordens I love two that can accompany eachother and he will have a great few years left with love, so enjoy the nee family member and a big for both.

Thank you!! Yes, he seems to be a good boy. I'm glad because our house is too small for bad dogs. Lolol Our other dog is very well mannered, so this is a big change for her but she is tolerating it all pretty well.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 113 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God. Keep doing the great job ❤️

We can also check out our latest video on our official Youtube Channel

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

Congratulations @zythia13! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I can't wait for you to write the next part of Andy's story!

I'll work on it! Lol

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(3/15) tipped @zythia13 (x2)
melinda010100 tipped punkblogs (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!


@zythia13, this comment has been manually curated with LUV

Andy looks like a good boy and we're so happy for him that he is able to spend his last years in a house with his own humans again. And even a girlfriend. Take good care of him and be patient because he maybe needs some time to adjust and find his place in his new home.

He will be well taken care of! And have many adventures compared to what he was doing in his last life. ♥️♥️♥️

That's lovely to hear.

I, Skipper, and my girlfriend Lana, are both rescue dogs too. Myla is the only girl here who has been with lady-boss since she was a puppy. Myla is lying, I am looking at her and Lana is sitting in the suitcase.

Lana is ready to go!

Yeah, she wants to go on a holiday to the beach. Weird girl, she doesn't even dare to swim! But she said that she needed to keep her tan color up.

😂😂😂

You must be so excited 🙌 It's wonderful that you are helping him :) How did he got funding from a lawyer???

This post has been upvoted by the VYB Curation Project

Andy's owner has dementia and other health problems. She has no family to help make her decisions or take her dog. So, the local government takes care of everything for her. She has a lot of money, and the court and the lawyer make sure everything gets paid for, with the owner's money. Including all of the things Andy needs! They will pay for everything until December 31. After that, he will probably be our responsibility. ♥️

That's pretty awesome :) ... I hope the lady is getting good care too?

Andy sounds almost like a service dog!

!PIZZA !ALIVE

Andy is most definitely not a service dog. But, he is a good boy! I hope his owner is being well cared for too! ♥️

Oh he is such a beauty and looks very friendly.
How was the first week going on? Hope the dogs like each other?
Hope we soon get new photos and hear how you do !LUV