Retiring in a Dying Economy

in #retire7 years ago

QGrand.jpg

I worked for a fortune 100 company until they decided to: downsize, outsource and sell off business units. It's like working on ice that broke of the glacier and is keeps shrinking!

This latest time, I had to train my Indian and Philippine replacements. They had never allowed me to put put my 401k investments into anything I would really want to invest in and they wouldn't let me move it to and IRA so I could decide. Anyway, once laid off, I could dump the 401k and pension accounts and get control over them. This is where normal people would set their hair on fire and run in circles. You what?

Pension funds have been underfunded with the help of the government rules changes and with the help of zero interest rates. Many are having great difficulties. See Dallas Police Pension collapsing.

So here is the point of my article. I could have depended on my IRA, SSA and Pension for retirement but there is a real concern (See Greg Mannerino's Vlogs) that the dollar currency system as we know it might not be there. I made a significant purchase of undervalued assets: Silver and Gold. As Greg M. likes to say, "bet against the debt and become your own central bank".

So first plan is to work till that isn't needed or isn't available. I have a programming job again with a small time company and it is not corporate (whole article there!). If things go along with not great shifts, I can like OK on SSA. I expect even with no crashing Gold and Silver will go up some. I can do RV living in Arizona on my wife's and my SSA. Plan B, things go bad, we hold out while Silver goes stellar then we use our wealth to help Yah's mission and family. If things go mad max well, I will leave that part out of my article. :)

"What's so funny about Love, Peace and Understanding"
YahsWays