Frozen; A deeply disturbing psychological thriller on stage

in #review6 years ago (edited)

A few months ago I was invited by a friend to see the play Frozen. Most of you are probably thinking, children, chatty snowmen, castles and princesses dancing in the snow, and at first so did I, but my friend was referring to a completely different story. A much more sinister and terrifying tale involving the abduction of a ten year old girl. I should have expected as much, my friend after all, is a researcher in criminology. I was at first reluctant to agree and I would have probably turned the offer down were it not for the cast, which included Suranne Jones (Dr Foster, Scott and Bailey), Nina Sosanya (Last Tango in Halifax) and Jason Watkins (Being Human, Trollied), and the fact that I have been to the theatre to see comedies, dramas, tragedies, musicals, operas, dances but never a psychological thriller. Written by Bryony Lavery in 1998, Frozen retrospectively tells us the story of an abducted ten year old girl through the eyes of her mother, her adbucter and killer and a criminologist studying the crime. Part monologue, part dialogue it takes the audience through the events that lead up to the crime and proceeds to let a number of perspectives unfold and interact.

I was unsure what to expect so I grabbed a packet of tissues on my way out, for safe measure. A missing child should be enough to get even me blubbing. It is legendary how little I am able to cry and I was convinced this would do it. The Theatre Royal Haymarket is however a reassuringly civilised place and this helped keep the play at bay. We had also strategically chosen seats ‘not too close to the front’. I was glad for this. The play and its execution were incredibly powerful and were we physically closer to the stage or in a darker more sinister environment, I think I would have had to leave. Jason Watkins’ amazing performance was just too convincing to feel comfortable. His ablity to convey the disturbing psychology of a monster was terrifying and left no room for tears or need for my tissues. I was quite simply too shocked to move. I am not sure I will be going to see another play like this anytime soon but I am going to spend some more time marvelling at the skill involved in acting. It is truly remarkable and if you remain to be convinced I definitely recommend that you go and see this dark, intense and unsettling play.

DB56A50F-2952-42E2-AD7B-3A75A007257D.jpeg
FROZEN; 9th February - 5th May: Theatre Royal Haymarket, London

Sort:  

Hey @airlea, from what you described it somehow scared me ... not sure this play is for me, lol! But it sounded fascinating I could imagine people who are brave enough like you would really enjoy the thrill.

Great post, like always. :)

Not that brave, I was dreading it but I did think that the acting was quite amazing, a real art. Next time I am sticking to my usual choice - comedy and musical :-P
<3

Congratulations @airlea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!