LeatherMan Super Tool Review

in #review7 years ago

My Review of the Letherman Super Tool


This Letherman tool was given to me as a Christmas gift more than a decade ago. The tool has been used very frequently and is showing no signs of wear on the pliers jaws or the other tool surfaces. This is a very sturdy tool made of high quality metal. In all of the years of use I have never had to sharpen any of the blades and they are still very, very sharp. The blades or tools all lock when folded out with a sturdy click.

Here in the closed setting there is a useful measuring stick (9 inches or 22.5 cm when opened) in both metric and standard units.


In the open mode the needle nose pliers jaws are exposed and the 3 types of jaws can be seen. The jaws closest to the pivot point is the wire cutters and I have cut many wires with these and it still shows no sign of wear. The next section of the jaws are the coarse pliers for holding nuts or gripping round objects that need to be secured. Then the end of the pliers are the fine teeth for smaller jobs, even though these have been used time and time again they still have good grip and the tool surfaces are standing up better than expected.


On the left hand side the blade shown in the lowest position is the serrated blade and this still very sharp and will cut without any effort at all. This blade has helped me make many lunches while camping or out on other outdoor adventures, I mostly use this blade for food like bread or buns.

The next tool is the bottle/can opener, it will remove a bottle cap with out any effort at all, it also has a sharp inner blade that will open a tin that requires a little more force but, once the metal is pierced cutting is easy.

The little blade may look like a knife but it is a small screwdriver that will tighten small screws such as those in eye glasses. It will also puncture metal cans, ask me how I know.

The saw blade is great for small wood/plastic working jobs or to trim limbs from trees, as the other blades this saw blade is still very sharp and cuts softer materials with ease.

The 5th tool shown is a multi screw driver, at first glance it looks to be a Phillips tip but I have used it on Robertson screws too as it kind of has a square head shape.

On the right hand side the lowest tool is a file, it has a coarse side and a fine side and I have used this many times and it still files very well. If there was one implement that I could say is showing some wear it would be the file but it still works.

2nd from the bottom is the large flat blade screwdriver probably the tool I have used the least.

The medium flat blade screwdriver has come in handy but does not get much use as flat head screws are not used much these days.

The awl (hidden in the photo) is the next tool and it is strong and sharp as well, I have used it many times to make holes in leather and wood, it will also puncture metal cans with very little effort.

The main blade has remained sharp and I have cut many things with it over the years including wires and wood, I have also hacked off a chunk of sausage a time or two for lunch with it.

Over all this tool has been nothing short of amazing and I highly recommend it. The Letherman Super Tool has been serving me well and is probably something I will be able to hand down to my grandson and he will probably get a lifetime use out of it too..