You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPINION | Ralph Breaks the Internet, or Disney mocking themselves and getting away with it

in #review5 years ago

I have not seen a movie in years and do not have tv in SE Asia, but I feel like a saw 1000 animated movies when my son was young in California and I had the job of taking him to them. All I noticed from Disney movies was that the parents were always dead or died at the beginning.

Pretty much every reference you make in this post is not something I have heard of. I've seen the word "PewDiePie," but I do not know what it is. It's amazing how much I do not see now.

I had a fb friend who was raging constantly about SJW's and finally blocked me after I told him that single jewish women did not like him either.

The idea of a "villain support group" seems about as American as you can get.

It's an interesting idea that characters in the games have outside lives. Maybe this is is true and we will someday be overtaken by them. I see little kids here with costumes on and their eyes within inches of screens, so maybe they are already interacting in a way we cannot predict.

Sort:  

Thank you for your input, @fitinfun! 😍

Indeed, Disney used to have a book of guidelines for every single plot they brew and, for most of the 20th century, that applied to every movie they produced. Fortunately, they're back on track and they seem to have acknowledged a lot of their mistakes... We can thank globalization and a growing, healthier discussion and critique on the Internet and social media for that.

PewDiePie (born Felix Kjellberg) is a Swedish youtuber and streamer who used to be one of the most recognized figures in gaming and comedy streams across the Internet. Nevertheless, he has seen a fair share of critique and controversy because of many tasteless, allegedly racist and sexist jokes and he has lost a lot of the pedigree he used to have.

LOL, That thing you did with your FB friend was pure gold 🤣 Hope to see you around!

Interesting about PewDiePie. Now in SE Asia, they do not do things in a politically correct way. This is so refreshing after my years in California. People say what they mean an no sugar coating here.

I'm in weight loss coaching and you cannot even say people are fat in the us lol.

My old fb friend was always talking in acronyms and I did not want to look up SJW. But I know what is is now, and I hopefully I will not ever have to deal with any of them :)

Political correctness is one of the worst things mankind has invented, my dear @fitinfun.

After communism, of course.

Hope you keep living the good life on SE Asia! Good luck with your training 💪✌

Haha! I was actually very impressed in Vietnam. I did not see much, but it seems like that form of government works in smaller places. Definitely no pc over there.

I am having a good time here and hope it continues :)