[Tech Review] Nokia 5: The King is Back

in #review6 years ago (edited)


Like some of you, I've had many Nokia phones over the years. Nokia was the de facto mobile phone for many for so long. With the rise of Android and iPhones, it seemed like the King was dead. Long live the King.

The Nokia 5 is a staggeringly beautiful, well-built and armed with good specs. This is technically classed as a budget phone, but is definitely at the mid-high end of the budget scale. I was searching around for a replacement to my V7 Zyro, which was a surprisingly good phone for £60. I've never really been one to get the latest and greatest phones, the closest I came to a premium phone was with the Nexus 4, but that was only because the Nexus 5 had been released and Google were selling them off cheap. I'm a big tech fan, but I use my laptop or tablet for general web browsing and the likes, so I don't need a phone with all the bells and whistles. When I stumbled across the Nokia 5, my prayers had been answered.

On the outside, the Nokia 5 is beautifully crafted. A seamless metal body and bright, fully-laminated and polarised 5.2" Corning® Gorilla® Glass. A pleasant surprise was to find that it even comes with a conveniently placed fingerprint sensor, which I have to admit has been really very useful. Inside the phone comes with the latest generation Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ 430 processor designed for excellent battery life and improved graphics. I'll just point out as well that the battery life really is impressive. With casual use, you'll easily get two days out of a single charge. There is also Near-Field Communication (NFC) for easy sharing of content, and enables you to use your phone to make payments the same as your contactless card thanks to Google Pay (formerly Android Pay). There is a MicroSD card slot so that you can expand your storage by an extra 128GB, on top of the 16GB of internal storage.

I was lucky enough to get this phone during the Black Friday sales through Amazon, but it is still incredibly well priced at £179.99. After several months of using, it's not only met my expectations, but surpassed them. Another pleasant surprise was to receive the Android 8.0 Oreo update just the other week, so Nokia clearly intend on providing good support. The phone runs stock Android (often referred to as Vanilla Android), so you're free to customise it to your heart's content. There's a wide variety of cases available for this phone too, which was something I struggled to get with the somewhat obscure V7 Zyro.

In Summary

I can't praise this phone enough, for the price you are getting a high quality product, from a brand you recognise that can easily compete with even the priciest of phones these days. It's jam-packed with the latest tech, from a fingerprint scanner, to USB OTG and NFC. If you are looking for a budget handset that's also stylish and functional, look no further than the Nokia 5. There are also a few other Nokia handsets, including a low-end budget model to an all-singing-all-dancing premium handset. I for one welcome the return of the King of Mobiles.


Source:

Nokia 5 Official Website (https://www.nokia.com/en_gb/phones/nokia-5)

All images are used without the express authorisation of the copyright holders. They are used under what's known in British law as "Fair Dealing" or under US law as "Fair Use" exceptions. For example, exceptions relating to research and private study, criticism or review, or news reporting. For more information visit the UK Gov website or the US Gov website.

Sort:  

Beautiful phone, that you for sharing this peice of incredible technology. But a larger question looms...

How does it do against lightning?

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Thanks! You've got a great service here.
Just a quick question, I plan on putting out 1 - 3 original articles a day, would I be ok to request your service for each of them? Or is there a limit? I was using @OriginalWorks to verify my original writings, but their bot has been down for some time now.

Hello! I'm the creator of @thundercurator. Thank you very much for your comment. Using the service multiple times for quality content is no problem at the moment. Please feel free to do so!

I also use to use @originalworks, but the service has no use anymore.

Thank you so much for getting back to me! That's great, I shall do that. Keep up the great work!

Oh thank you so much for this review! I've been thinking of getting a new phone. My current one works but it is so huge it's like a tablet really and difficult to manage as a phone.

I had a heck of a time trying to get a decent phone before I finally got this one. I'd looked into phablets, but if it won't fit in my pocket it's no good. I can't recommend this Nokia enough, but they have quite a few ones to choose from.
There was another one I was looking at, by a Chinese brand called Cubot. I've heard good things about them, definitely worth looking into if you're in the market for a new phone.

nokia run the world for long times before android born. i heve ever used one of them.
but now i'm using samsung.
thank for the review @johngreenfield

You got a 4.21% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @johngreenfield!