Harry Potter: Hogwarts Mystery Review

in #review6 years ago

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Mystery
Credit: Harry Potter: Hogwarts Mystery

So, I recently discovered a new game for iOS and Android called Harry Potter: Hogwarts Mystery, and as of right now, I’m not a huge fan.

Basically, you get to create your own character and live the life of a student at Hogwarts. The story takes place before the events of the main Harry Potter series, and that’s really all I can say about the story so far. I haven’t gotten too far into the gameplay (I just started Chapter 4), but based on what I have played so far, I absolutely hate the experience. That isn’t to say that it doesn’t have anything positive to say about it.

What I Like

Rowan Khanna
Credit: Harry Potter Wiki

The story I’ve managed to get through so far is true to what drew fans in to the Harry Potter series. At least the gameplay has that going for it. I don’t really have much else to say about the plot since I’ve only bothered to get past the first three chapters.

When you first start out, you meet a character named Rowan Khanna, who just can’t seem to stop reminding you that they have no other friends. The game also introduces you to a clone of Draco Malfoy named Merula Snyde. These characters are alright enough, though. Other than the teachers, you interact with these two the most in the beginning, and they’re just...there so far.

And that’s all I have to say on the positive side. Now, on for the negatives.

What I Disliked

Money
Credit: Pixabay

Free to play my ass. Free to download is a more accurate description of the app. After running out of energy for certain items, you need to either wait for long periods of time to get a substantial amount of energy back or pay for one of the app’s in-universe currencies in order to replenish your energy. This would be fine if this was only the case for special items or actions, but the game expects you to do this for every. Single. Damn. Action. It’s infuriating! I can barely get through even one action worth of gameplay without running out of energy and facing this problem. In all honesty, Warner Bros. should’ve just charged you $0.99 in the App Store if they wanted so badly to make money off of this game, or at the very least play some ads every now and then during the game. This game is just ridiculous.

Conclusion

  • Story / Gameplay: 1 / 10
  • Characters: 5 / 10
  • Themes / Lessons: N/A

Overall: 2 / 10