So who saw the iPhone X reveal last night?

in #review7 years ago

iphonex.jpg
Image credit

Some would say I am an Apple fanatic, I might own a lot of apple products but don't see myself as a die hard fanboi, personally I think they make really good hardware.

I have bought into the whole Apple eco-system. I own an iMac, MacBook, iPhone, Apple Watch and they really do work well together. I was watching the event yesterday and while watching the iPhone 8 reveal could not help myself but think Apple had lost the plot. The iPhone 8 really does not look like anything better than the current iPhone 7.

It was missing the full screen that everyone had been speculating, no facial recognition, it really did feel like a let down.

But from the dark Tim got to use a very famous saying, "One more thing" and boy was it worth waiting for. Everything that people had wanted the new iPhone X has. Even though it seems like the proper "next" iPhone I can't help but feel that Apple has truly lost the vision during this event. I could not help feel as they were explaining how great the iPhone X was at the same time they are telling you that the iPhone 8 is already out dated and old tech while doing the presentation.

If the iPhone 8 was the iPhone X I would have really been impressed. But it really feels like they released a substandard phone that nobody will really want, everyone will want the iPhone X, but I think the price tag, especially in South Africa, is going to be a deal breaker for many. MacBook or iPhone X, tough choice, not really, paying more for an iPhone that a MacBook seems crazy.

I am sure there will the die hard fans that will still camp outside the Apple stores to get their hands on the new iPhone X.

Personally, I can't see myself purchasing the iPhone X, the Google Pixel is really looking like the next phone for me.

Sort:  

I’m surprised by this. Other than the display, what makes you want the X over the 8? They’re basically the same phone - if the 8 is lackluster, so is the X - if the X is hot shit, then the 8 ships with that CPU/GPU now.

I have the 8 and love it. I will probably get the X and use the 8 as my backup phone, but it will be an act of conspicuous consumption (I have owned every iPhone and I will not stop now) and not a legitimate upgrade, as the 8 does everything the X does except the face scan gimmick.

Congratulations @roboza! You have received a personal award!

SteemFest 2 Attendee SteemFest 2 Attendee
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!