You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Short Story Review: The Weaver and the Snake By Blaine Vitallo

in #review6 years ago

So, Beneath Ceaseless Skies is 'literary fantasy' which can have a tendency to be overblown. However, I've read plenty of fantasy which is simply fun. The problem is that most were novels, I don't know if there is a market that publishes fun fantasy in short story form. One of the things I wanted to do was highlight a publisher of sci-fi/fantasy that would pay an author well, because that's what I tend to write (actually I tend to write only sci-fi, but I read both - and they get lumped together). For me this story broke through as I am not a huge fan of overly descriptive writing, but I got gripped and fell in. I think I knew that it wouldn't work for everyone, so I'm sorry you fell into that category. Thanks for reading it and for joining us. I look forward to becoming a better writer with you.