Sort:  

As I read your remarkable commentary, I think of other material I've read that indicts Confucianism for holding China back from progress. I know this attitude has gone sort of full circle, and the current (official) attitude in China is that tradition, as embodied especially by Confucianism, is important for reinforcing positive social values. But then I think of scholars, such as Cai Yuanpei who worked to eliminate Confucian studies from schools because he thought it prevented China from moving forward. As you write about it, the writings of Confucius have much wisdom, and yet these writings held such sway over a civilization for centuries, and not always with good effect. Your analysis is absorbing and thought-provoking. But I can't help connecting these words and your analysis with Confucianism's long, complicated history. Good read. I'll be back.

I remember when I took African Asian history last year we learned about Confucianism. I believe that the more "enlightened traditional free thought" ideas presented by Confucius were contrary to what the first emperor Qin Shi Huangdi had in mind for China. As a result, I believe his administration attempted to control thought by taking a more legalist approach. They tried to get rid of all but one copy of each book. The remaining "final" copy was held in an emperial library. It has been a year since I took this class, so I might be misguided, but I think that's what I remember. So, that is a little example of an event from "Confucianism's long, complicated history." Thanks for this quality comment! I look forward to seeing you in the future!

Thank you for your reply! I once wrote a book, read by no one (that's my hobby, writing books no one reads) about Chinese literati art. I remember reading that the emperor buried 460 Confucian scholars alive. I'm not sure if this is apocryphal, but Mayo once referred to it in a speech so the story has some legitimacy in China. I think, Confucianism had a hold on the people that no emperor, no ruler could stamp out. It is easy to burn books, but killing ideas, that's quite another thing. I'm amazed by your project. Such work, and understanding of an ancient philosophy.

Thank you for sharing this book of virtue. My Father-in-law has tried to get me into Confucian Analects for years. For his sake I will follow your series and learn a little bit about this classic writer.

Thanks! I hope you enjoy the rest of this series!

Hey there! I am new to this series and loving it. Followed and upvoted. I’m very interested in the idea that the love of mankind is seen as the number one priority in being virtuous. It’s so different than some other philosophies...for example, in Aristotle’s Poetics he talks about virtue and seems to believe that it lies in living perpetually in the middle ground, i.e. never veering to extremes. It’s funny because I see love as a passionate and almost “extreme” emotion...interesting to ponder the two together!

These are some very good points! I do not believe there is any one quality that achieves virtue. I think that virtue is mastery of fulfilling one's own moral values in the most efficient and fair way possible. I think that virtue is a combination of extremes, compromise, love, and hate. Virtue is the ability to know when which one of these qualities is necessary in order to achieve your own moral values. Thank you for this quality comment! I hope to see you in future articles!

Hi @lilyraabe. As a bird I get around easier that humans so excuse me for eavesdropping. I look at Aristotle as the stuff you make out of Socratic playdough. Still that's not enough to make a human being. Then Augustine and Aquinas arise in and give a meta jump into what is good. I'm just wasting space to write more. Everything already has been said.

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around