You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Blog Rewards Will Need to Go

in #reward-pool6 months ago

what are you even talking about? We haven't even made peakd plans with all our work on peak open projects. Also Rondon from what i understand is much more in favor of this. There needs to be a mechanism to impart of HIVE governance token inflation and the pool that imparts of this to users through the reward pool has worked pretty well... if we got rid of this we'd have to figure out how to impart of the governance token and NO ONE has a plan that would sufficiently replace this. I assure you I am not your dragon in this fight that I know little about i've been focused on our other projects... i joined a twitter space once and shared some thoughts that apparently have been misinterpreted or perhaps not shared very well but in either case.... There has to be a distribution mechanism for our governance token HIVE otherwise we risk trending towards and not away from centralization even more. My thoughts then go towards the social media side of things that the rewards pool is why lots of us are here but also why many more don't come here... because so many of the general community of Hive seem to focus too much on that ABOVE what other platforms do which is to create an audience for their content and find willing and excited readers and create a sense of yearning for their content and consistency of readership. They have impact on people through their content and that keeps bringing people back and it grows and grows and so little people do that and focus on the number of eyes and the impact of their message on their hearts and minds. If we had MORE rewards that rewarded other things this would be better.
Also another solution is to teach people they can SELF turn off their rewards by clicking a button or click to opt into rewards or read and acknowledge the whole concept of allowing a community of various individuals and groups to vote up or down on their content then they'll maybe have more understanding and buy in and also separate our greatest social media contribution which is that they have true ownership of their content and that the reward pool is separate from this and they can opt into it and get another reward and that if they have stuff that maybe they want to share that someone else created they can acknowledge it and not contribute their post to the reward pool and this would solve a TON of the problems i see between people fighting with eachother. I mean i could go on... but in the end I honestly don't know why you think I want to "remove the reward pool" i want to make User interface changes that help people UNDERSTAND the reward pool and to reflect on it... and for people to focus on other things that will get people to connect and bring eyes to their content. But HIVE needs an inflation mechanism that is as wide as possible and NO one (including me) has ever made a compelling argument of what it could be other than a content based reward pool.

Sort:  

Obviously you know the weight that your words carry on this platform... and while I was trying not to drag PeakD or Peak Open Projects into this... you (if that really is you) have chosen to speak with them. Perhaps you did this knowing that they carry even more weight... but that is wholly conjecture on my part.

If by saying... that r0nd0n is 'much more in favor of this' is your way of... either deflecting or throwing them under the bus... I am not falling for it. If that is not your intent then my apologies for bearing the previously mentioned sentiment.

Furthermore, I have spent an incredible amount of time doing my best to fully understand r0nd0n's points on the subject at hand... and come to only one conclusion in regards to their motive: They see a real and present danger and have chosen to put their neck out their to provide a possible solution.

I am neither looking for dragons nor looking for a fight. That said, from what I know of dragons (and for that matter fights with dragons) they tend to be easily slain whilst snoozing in their lair... where they can often be found laying upon their ill-gotten horde. All of which is neither here nor there... but since you broached the topic... there you have it. By the way, I love dragons and dislike the idea of anyone harming them but that is besides the point.

As for your comments in said 'space' where you shared them. It was brought to your attention at the time (by me actually) that they had caused a bit of an uproar... along with lots of confusion. I went way out of my to do so (even sacrificing my privacy along the way... since no one can speak in your server without giving you their phone number) and straight up you called the person 'dumb' and brushed my concerns off. The former may be a character flaw of yours... we all have them so no judgment there... and the latter (being brushed off) is meaningless to me... and something that I am quite accustomed to... and subsequently do not hold it against folks.

To be clear here (to the best of my recollection) I think the way you worded it was 'maybe they are just dumb' but honestly you demeaning them (instead of directly answering the question posed) was all I needed to hear... before realizing that I was wasting my time trying to have an actual discussion with you about it. Again, let me express that 'words have weight' and in that instance... you made a conscious choice to add insult to injury with them... instead of seeking clarity, understanding and conclusion to the question at hand.

In your response to the question that I have posed to r0nd0n in this thread (and the question aimed at you to some degree) you use the term 'we' quite liberally. I dunno how many mice you have in your pockets there (that is a play on the term: do you have a mouse in your pocket) but I am unclear on what 'we' you are referring to and would prefer to hear your personal views... from your personal perspective... if you are capable of such. For all I know you could be speaking about the Hive community, your business associates or perhaps even the Mormon mafia for that matter. There is really no way of telling and I am only tossing that last term in there to highlight the absurdity of replacing 'I' with the word 'we'.

Please feel free to 'go on there' because from the sounds of things... you apparently have a lot to say on the subject matter at hand. As for 'why' I would think that you want to remove the Rewards Pool... how could I draw any other conclusion given all the facts at hand?

This was supposed to be posted with this account but i was working on this project and didn't change the account name when i wrote this.