Rhapsodist Writing Contest #6 - EDGE OF REALITY

in #rhapsodist7 years ago (edited)


After surviving another exhausting day at work, I deliberately skipped dinner and headed to bed. This is probably the best part of being single, I get to do whatever I want to do. I am renting a slightly dilapidated apartment with no plans of moving out. The place is old, but it is cozy as it is inexpensive – all in all, a decent bachelor’s pad.


Tired as I was, I dozed off the instant my head touches my pillow. Oblivious to reality, I ventured into the world of dreams, where I unexpectedly had an encounter with Paul, my next-door neighbor. It was nothing important, really, he was just asking me to keep his key while he’s out. I’ve always had this kind of conversation with him in real life, ever since he lost his key for the seventh time. I was cool with it since he usually came home right before I left for work.


In the dream I took the key from him, waved goodbye and went to bed. Then things got weird, because some time later, I heard him screaming as he was frantically banging my door. The scene was followed by three loud gunshots, then a complete, eerie silence.


I woke up panting.


It was horrible dream. I shifted from my position and went back to sleep.


I woke up the next day feeling recharged. Everything seemed to be normal until I felt a small piece of metal perfectly nestled inside my curled fist. I opened my hand to find a very familiar key, almost identical to my own. It had probably been there for quite some time, for its shape remained etched on my skin after I took it off.


I was still trying to figure out how I got the key when I heard persistent knocks on my door. I got up and hurriedly opened it to see two pious-looking gentlemen in uniform – cops. The grievous look on their faces told me that something was amiss. My suspicion was confirmed when they started asking questions about Paul, my neighbor who lives next door. According to them, they found his lifeless body slumped against my door earlier this morning. By then he had been dead for five hours.


All I can do is stare at them in shock. They eventually gave up when they realized that I’m not capable of answering their questions at the moment. When they left, I began to sob uncontrollably, knowing that I could’ve saved him.


Clinging to the small piece of metal in my hand, I shut my eyes tight, hoping that this was all just a part of a horrible dream.





I woke up to the sound of someone frantically banging my door, a small piece of metal nestled perfectly inside my curled fist.


~o~


Hello! This short story was crafted for the Rhapsodist Writing Contest #6. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Thanks everyone! :D


Love. Love. Love.  

Sort:  

Nice story, @lyxng. I got very imaginative while reading it and scared myself a little bit. Following you for more like this!

Thank you so much @zycr22 :)

Very nicely written @lyxng! A thriller short story and adding in some confusion at the very end. I like it very much!

Thank you @kayelee :) I liked your entry too.

You have a very good story as well. This is my first time actually writing for something so we will see how it goes. Thank you for your vote and comment on my story. Good Luck in the contest.

Same to you. :) Thanks for reading!

Whoah very nice @lyxng! ^^ Loved it! :))

heeeeee! sana manalo tayo ^_^

nice. from what contest is this?

This story is very exciting and I really like it !! I love your optimism

Thank you so much @amedeo :D

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond