Buying Ripple but where and how?

in #ripple6 years ago

Coming from a non IT background I wish I had more understanding of this. Am new to Steem, so hopefully I have posted this in the right place.

I remember seeing bitcoin appear for about £12 a few years ago, and was even gifted a bitcoin which I promptly lost. I remember thinking it might be useful to have a few bitcoin just to see how it worked. I probably would have spent the coins but if I had bought 10 BC I would be in a very different zone. I fully understand the idea hat BC and crypto might be a bubble, by previous economic standards, but somehow something tells me this might be different, because the currencies are so radically different - long term they are I think here to stay, short of an asteroid strike, nuclear war, or other Infrastructure killers.

So along comes Ripple and looks like you get a lot of Ripple for your money which would rocket sky high if it takes off, and no regrets for not taking the plunge. Sadly you can’t easily buy it anywhere and the wallets all seem to be command prompt based. Scary stuff if you are new to crypto.

I wonder are there any accessible guides on buying selling and storing Ripple. If not are there any accessible guides for newbies that provide reliable information about software to use, things to consider etc just to get started.

What software do you guys use? Where do you buy your crypto currencies?

Are there any crypto syndicates one can join?

How do you protect yourself against scams and theft?

Sort:  

Thanks for the info guys. I now got a wallet called toast wallet which seems quite well presented and easy to use. Do any of you know about this? Will check out the other suggestions. Fiat would be easier to manage for me. Will need to find an exchange you can buy small amounts to see how it works before committing a larger amount. Signed up with Kraken which seems like a serious trading site.

yeah toast is good.

Ripple has been growing a lot lately. From 20 cents to 80 cents in the last few weeks. I bought my ripple on bittrex.com (a cryptocurrency exchange) the base currency there is bitcoin though. You will need to send another currency to bittrex then trade it for ripple (XRP)

use shapeshift.io and exodus eden wallet to store it in (exodus.io/eden)

shapeshift ripple trading was not available.

that's where i got my ripple from. i just checked and it says unavailable. not sure why. email support. cheers!

Thanks i get the impression crypto is a really dynamic and chaotic trading environment, so that may be why. Tried Kraken instead. So hopefully will be up and running shortly

I bought some Ripples 2 months ago on Kraken. They accept fiat so it was quite easy for a beginner like me.

I've never bought any, but then I haven't bought much of any crypto. I got some small amounts from faucets and then I made a load of Steem here. The Ripple site lists some exchanges. I expect some may take fiat. Maybe someone out there will want to sell you some, but then you need some sort of guarantee or way to check their reputation