Dream to be A Star (Part 12): Paint It Black

in #risingstar3 years ago (edited)


Source: Pexels, modified

Annelice. That's how Maxim The Saxophonist called her. What was Maxim's relationship with her? Maxim never talked about a girl named Annelice even though he always talked about the people closest to him. He even told me about the buskers in any corner he knew. Also the police, merchants, and shopkeepers around Wittgenstein Street. Why did he never tell me about Annelice?

The girl in the black bucket hat laughed happily and crossed the street towards Max's place. They hugged each other and seemed to chat for a while. Then they walked east together. They looked familiar and walked while chatting.

What should I do? Should I follow them and then pretended to meet them inadvertently at a coffee shop? Then I greeted Max and asked about the girl. Or maybe Max introduced the girl to me first?

"Hello, I'm Iwank, a busker from the crossroads in City Garden."

I shook her hand.

"How do you do. I'm Annelice. I ..."

Who was he? Was she a friend of Max? Was she his sister? Or ven his girlfriend? Dammit. I never thought I would get there. I also never asked about Maxim's personal life before. He was an honest person but as far as I could remember he never talked about his girlfriend. Only once he ever mentioned about his family but never discussed it further.

My enthusiasm for singing decreased sharply. My energy dropped by 99 percent. I felt so tired. So tired that I wanted to just lie down on this pedestrian. This tile floor looked very soft to sleep on.

I fixed my busking equipment. I better went home and slept long. I walked limply toward St Augustine Street, the closest road to Russell Station. Home. I wanted to go home.

My head was dizzy. My eyes were blurry. That's when Octavio Paz hugged my body which was about to collapse. The Mexican carried me to a bench on the pedestrian. I sat down like a towel. Octavio handed a bottle of water to my mouth. I drank it and coughed.

"What's happened to you?" he asked.

"I don't know. Suddenly my head got dizzy," I replied.

"Maybe the sun was too hot. Or you didn't get enough rest yesterday," he said.

I shook my head.

I couldn't possibly tell this matter to Octavio. He was indeed a good person and often helped out his fellow singers. But, I was not so closed to him. I had more faith in Maxim. Ah, maybe he knew something about Maxim. Maybe I could dig a story from him. But, it might be weird if I suddenly talked about Max's girlfriend.

"Have you seen Max?" I asked.

"Maxim?"

I nodded.

"I saw him go with a woman to the Paint It Black coffee shop."

I knew it. Octavio didsn't know Annelice. If he knew, he would say her name .

"I think I need a cup of coffee," I said. "A cup of black coffee may reduce my headache."

He nodded.

"Let's go to Paint It Black," I said, standing up. "Where is it?"

"On Aristotle Street, near Marx Garden."

He stood up. We walked towards Aristotle Street.

To be continued...


Source: Moritz Boing from Pexels

--

Mimpi Menjadi Bintang (Bagian 12): Paint It Black

Annelice. Begitu Maxim The Saxophonist memanggilnya. Apa hubungan Maxim dengan dia? Maxim tak pernah bercerita tentang gadis bernama Annelice padahal dia selalu bercerita tentang orang-orang terdekatnya. Dia bahkan bercerita tentang para pengamen di sudut mana pun yang dia kenal. Juga polisi, pedagang, dan penjaga toko sekitar Wittgenstein Street. Mengapa dia tak pernah bercerita tentang Annelice.

Gadis bertopi bucket hitam itu tertawa bahagia dan menyeberangi jalan menuju tempat Max. Mereka saling berpelukan dan tampak berbincang-bincang sebentar. Lalu mereka berjalan bersama ke timur. Mereka tampak akrab dan berjalan sambil bercakap-cakap.

Apa yang harus kulakukan? Apakah aku harus mengikuti mereka dan kemudian pura-pura tak sengaja bertemu mereka di suatu kedai kopi? Lalu aku menyapa Max dan bertanya tentang gadis itu. Atau Max mungkin duluan memperkenalkan gadis itu padaku?

"Hallo, aku Iwank, pengamen dari persimpangan jalan di City Garden."

Aku menyorongkan tangan dan kami berjabat tangan.

"How do you do. Saya Annelice. Saya..."

Siapa dia? Apakah dia teman Max? Apakah dia saudaranya? Apakah dia malah pacarnya? Sialan. Aku tak pernah berpikir sampai di sana. Aku juga tak pernah bertanya soal kehidupan pribadi Maxim. Dia orang yang terbuka tapi seingatku dia tak pernah bercerita tentang pacar atau istrinya. Hanya sekali dia menyebut punya keluarga tapi tak pernah membahasnya lebih lanjut.

Semangatku untuk mengamen menurun tajam. Energiku drop sampai 1 persen. Aku merasa sangat lelah. Begitu lelahnya sehingga ingin langsung berbaring saja di pedestrian ini. Lantai ubin ini terlihat sangat empuk untuk ditiduri.

Aku membenahi peralatan mengamenku. Lebih baik aku pulang saja dan tidur yang lama. Aku melangkah lunglai menuju St Augustine Street, jalan terdekat ke Stasiun Russel. Pulang. Aku ingin pulang.

Kepalaku pening. Mataku berkunang-kunang. Saat itulah Octavio Paz memeluk badanku yang nyaris ambruk. Lelaki Meksiko itu memapahku ke bangku di pedestrian. Aku terduduk seperti sehelai handuk. Octavio mengangsurkan sebotol air ke mulutku. Aku meminumnya dan terbatuk-batuk.

"Mengapa kau teler begini?" tanya dia.

"Entahlah. Tiba-tiba kepalaku pusing," jawabku.

"Mungkin matahari yang terlalu panas. Atau kau kurang istirahat kemarin," kata dia.

Aku menggeleng.

Aku tak mungkin menceritakan masalah ini kepada Octavio. Dia memang orang yang baik dan sering membantu sesama pengamen. Tapi, aku tak terlalu dekat dengannya. Aku lebih percaya kepada Maxim. Ah, mungkin dia tahu sesuatu tentang Maxim. Mungkin aku bisa menggali cerita dari dia. Tapi, pasti aneh kalau aku tiba-tiba berbicara soal kekasih Max.

"Kau lihat Max?" tanyaku.

"Maxim?"

Aku mengangguk.

"Tadi aku lihat dia pergi bersama seorang perempuan ke kedai kopi Paint It Black."

Sudah kuduga. Octavio tidak kenal Annelice. Kalau dia tahu, pasti dia menyebut namanya.

"Aku kira aku perlu secangkir kopi," kataku. "Secangkir kopi hitam mungkin bisa sedikit mengurangi pusingku."

Dia mengangguk.

"Mari kita ke Paint It Black," kataku sambil berdiri. "Dimana kedai itu?"

"Di Aristotle Street, dekat Marx Garden."

Dia juga berdiri. Kami pun melangkah menuju Aristotle Street.

Bersambung...


Source: David Bartus from Pexels


I am a writer, blogger, and photographer. I hope you like my work. Please vote and reblog this post and follow @blogiwank if you support me.

Sort:  

Hey @blogiwank, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.