Dream to be A Star (Part 6): The Blues Brother

in #risingstar3 years ago


Source: Pexels, modified

Maxim The Saxophonist was right. Wittgenstein Street did promise to illegal buskers like me. Half a day playing there I already pocketed 200 Starbits. "You're my god of luck!" I said, hugging Maxim.

The black man laughed and took me to a small pub nearby. "I'll buy you a beer. Let's have a party for your lucky day," he said.

For Whom The String Clink Pub was located at the intersection of Wittgenstein Street and Chomsky Street. The pub looked tiny on the outside but was surprisingly roomy on the inside. He even had a small stage where the musicians could perform.

"You can try German or Belgian beer here. Both are fine," said Maxim.

We chose the table closest to the stage. "Tonight The Blues Brother will perform. I like their music. Energetic and sometimes contemplative," he said.

However, the legendary band's turn was still long. Thomas The Big Mustache, the owner of this pub, was seen checking the sound system of the stage. Maxim immediately approached him. They seemed to chat for a long time. The last thing I saw was Thomas nodding his head. This was a good sign, I thought. But, I didn't know what they were talking about.

After talking with Thomas, Maxim came over me and sat in the chair next to me. "Thomas is okay. You can try to bring a few songs on the stage before The Blues Brother gets on stage," he said.

"You're crazy," I said. "I have nothing to prepare."

I was telling the truth. I just dressed modestly for busking. The equipment I brought was also only prepared for busking. If it's just getting drunk in this pub, I was fine. If I was playing music on a pub stage, oh my God, I was not ready at all.

Maxim laughed. "A musician is a musician. Whether he is singing or in a concert, he is still a musician. Whether he only brings an ukulele or a harmonica, he is still a musician," he said. "You can do it."

Maxim had already made a deal with Thomas. I could not cancel it. He said this was my chance to show my talent to Thomas. If he was impressed, I had had a great chance to continue playing at this pub.

Maxim was right. I could not turn down this opportunity. There was nothing wrong with trying. May the goddess of fortune be with me.

This was my first Open Mic without training. Of course I was nervous but Maxim kept encouraging me from his chair. "You found a coffee and your energy recovery rate has been increased for an hour," a message arrived on my cell phone. Yes. This was what I was waiting for. In the Rising Star game, you needed a coffee or a slice of pizza to restore your energy so you could continue playing.

"Good evening, guys. I'm @blogiwank from the west. Tonight I would bring you some United Duality songs. Hope you like it," I said.

United Duality (@unitedduality) was a music project by Ortwin Wendt, a musician from Celle, Germany. He used guitar but with layers of instrumentations. He had also worked with many vocalists and musicians. That night I played some of his songs, such as Igual, A Tiny Tall Tale, See-Saw (with Liz Davinci), and Chanson de malheur (featuring Celine Schmink).

The people clapped. "14 drunks love your music and became your fans! Your maximum Starbits per mission has increased," a message popped up on my cell phone. I was excited. But I had to get off the stage. The Blues Brother was coming.

I sat at our table. Maxim patted my shoulder. "What did I say. Nothing to worry about," he said with a laugh. "Have a drink," he said, handing me a large glass of beer. I drank it. This was indeed my lucky day.

The Blues Brothers were two interesting brothers. They were good at playing blues songs. Anyone would be lulled when heard them. And yes, that night they played amazing. I really got drunk on the beer and their songs. Tonight was indeed my lucky night. I was laughing and drinking a beer again and again.


Mimpi Menjadi Bintang (Bagian 6): The Blues Brother


Source: Kyle Loftus from Pexels

Maxim The Saxophonist benar. Wittgenstein Street memang menjanjikan bagi para pengamen ilegal seperti aku. Setengah hari bermain di sana aku sudah mengantongi 200 Starbits. "Kau dewa keberuntunganku!" kataku sambil memeluk Maxim.

Lelaki berkulit hitam itu tertawa dan mengajakku ke sebuah pub kecil di dekat situ. "Aku traktir kamu bir. Kita berpesta untuk hari keberuntunganmu," katanya.

For Whom The String Clink Pub terletak di persimpangan Wittgenstein Street dan Chomsky Street. Pub itu tampak mungil dari luar tapi ternyata cukup lapang di dalam. Ia bahkan punya sebuah panggung kecil tempat para musisi pentas.

"Kau bisa mencoba bir Jerman atau Belgia di sini. Keduanya oke," kata Maxim.

Kami memilih meja yang paling dekat dengan panggung. "Malam ini The Blues Brother akan tampil. Aku menyukai musik mereka. Energik dan kadang kontemplatif," katanya.

Namun, giliran grup musik legendaris itu masih lama. Thomas The Big Mustache, pemilik pub ini, tampak sedang mengecek sound system panggung. Maxim langsung mendekatinya. Mereka tampak berbincang-bincang cukup lama. Yang terakhir kulihat adalah Thomas mengangguk-anggukkan kepala. Ini tanda bagus, pikirku. Tapi, aku tak tahu apa yang mereka bicarakan.

Selesai berbicara dengan Thomas, Maxim menghampiriku dan duduk di kursi di sebelahku. "Thomas oke. Kau boleh mencoba membawakan beberapa lagu di panggungnya sebelum The Blues Brother naik ke panggung," katanya.

"Kamu gila," kataku. "Aku tak punya persiapan apa-apa."

Aku berkata jujur. Aku cuma berpakaian ala kadarnya untuk mengamen. Peralatan yang kubawa juga cuma kusiapkan untuk mengamen. Kalau cuma mabuk-mabukan di pub ini, aku tidak masalah. Kalau bermain musik di panggung pub, ya Tuhan, aku sama sekali tidak siap.

Maxim tertawa. "Musisi itu ya musisi. Mau mengamen atau konser, dia tetap musisi. Mau dia cuma bawa ukulele atau harmonika, dia tetaplah musisi," kata dia seraya tertawa. "Kau pasti bisa."

Maxim sudah membuat kesepakatan dengan Thomas. Aku tak mungkin membatalkan kesepakatan itu. Dia bilang, ini kesempatanku untuk menunjukkan bakatku kepada Thomas. Bila dia terkesan, aku punya peluang besar untuk bermain terus di pub ini.

Maxim benar. Aku tak boleh menolak kesempatan semacam ini. Tak ada salahnya mencoba. Semoga Dewi Keberuntungan bersamaku.

Ini Open Mic pertamaku yang tanpa latihan. Tentu saja aku gugup tapi Maxim terus memberiku semangat dari kursinya. "You found a coffee and your energy recovery rate has been increased for an hour," sebuah pesan masuk ke telepon genggamku. Yes. Ini yang kutunggu. Dalam Rising Star game, kau butuh kopi atau sepotong pizza untuk memulihkan energimu sehingga kau bisa melanjutkan permainanmu.

"Selamat malam, guys. Saya @blogiwank dari barat. Malam ini saya akan membawakan beberapa lagu United Duality. Semoga kalian suka," kataku.

United Duality (@unitedduality) adalah projek musik Ortwin Wendt, musisi dari Celle, Jerman. Dia mengandalkan permainan gitar tapi dengan lapis-lapis instrumentasi. Dia juga bekerja sama dengan banyak vokalis dan musisi. Malam itu aku memainkan beberapa lagunya, seperti Igual, A Tiny Tall Tale, See-Saw (bersama Liz Davinci), dan Chanson de malheur (featuring Celine Schmink).

Orang-orang bertepuk tangan. "14 drunks love your music and became your fans! Your maximum Starbits per mission has increased," sebuah pesan tertulis di telepon genggamku. Aku girang. Tapi aku aku harus turun panggung. The Blues Brother sudah datang.

Aku duduk di meja kami. Maxim menepuk-nepuk pundakku. "Apa kubilang. Tak ada yang perlu dikhawatirkan," katanya sambil tertawa. "Ayo minum," kata dia seraya menyorongkan segelas besar bir. Aku menenggaknya. Ini memang hari keberuntunganku.

The Blues Brother adalah dua bersaudara yang menarik. Mereka piawai memainkan lagu-lagu blues. Siapa pun akan terbuai bila mendengarnya. Dan benar, malam itu mereka bermain luar biasa. Aku benar-benar mabuk karena bir dan juga lagu-lagu mereka. Malam ini memang malam keberuntunganku. Aku tertawa-tawa dan menenggak gelas bir entah yang keberapa.


Source: Laura Stanley from Pexels


I am a writer, blogger, and photographer. I hope you like my work. Please vote and reblog this post and follow @blogiwank if you support me.

Sort:  

This post gives you one entry into the weekly prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post original high quality posts once a day and use the #risingstar tag to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

Join our curation trail to automatically upvote posts about Rising Star.

!BEER


Hey @blogiwank, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.