Rising Star Log #1 - The Journey Begins

in #risingstar3 years ago

RisingStarBanner.jpg

So, yeah, I started playing around with another Hive NFT game. dCity has been addicting enough, but I've worked it into my routine after a few months, so that darn gaming itch needs scratching again. I suppose I need these little distractions while staring at a computer screen all day. But really, blockchain-based games are the future of gaming at least in some respects anyway. So, I do have a long term interest in getting a good feel for them.

The question boiled down to whether I was going to check out Splinterlands or Rising Star. I feel like I have enough fantasy RPG stuff going on that Splinterlands might overlap with that a little bit too much right now (based on what little I know about it anyway). So Rising Star won and I took the dip the other day.

There are many other good posts out there with tips on how to get started with Rising Star, so I won't even go into that. I have almost no idea what I'm doing yet. It's pretty straightforward actually. At first, there is only 1 mission you can do to get started, the Illegal Busking mission. I like that, it keeps it real simple.

It's also great that you can get started without any intitial investment. That's a big deal for me, not because I don't have some Hive to invest (I do) but not everyone does and we want to bring more people into the cryptogaming ecosystem, so it's great to have games that are completely open to new players.

As a musician myself, I love the atmosphere. I miss the days of touring and carrying around our own equipment, lining up gigs, playing with other bands, living off of pizza on the road etc. This is all a reminder of much of that. And if you haven't lived that life, it's a fun way to play it out.

I have a long way to go in this game - I'm only level 7 right now and can only do a few types of missions. I haven't put any outside investment into the game yet and I haven't earned enough in-game Starbits to reinvest in any cards. But I'm closing in on my first 100 missions when you earn your first cards. I'll see what I get out of those before figuring out what I need to buy.

Actually, I'm realizing that energy management is a big deal early on. I think I'll need a Pizza Box to store up that energy. But I've been having trouble retaining enough fans to do the higher missions. A Risky Whiskey fixes that I think. Tough choice between them, but as of right now I think the Pizza Box should be first.

That's the fun in playing a new game, figuring out how things work and trying to optimize. What's really cool about these games (I also mean dCity and Splinterlands in particular) is that they're new and they will be developing for a while.

It's clear that Rising Star is still very early. There are so many cards they could add. The ones they have are just the tip of the iceberg. And they can have a lot of fun with it and get creative. I'm looking forward to not only getting deeper into the game, but seeing what the developers do with it.

That's it for now, just my first impressions of the game. I'll poke around the Discord more and read some other posts to see how other people are doing in it.

See you! (That's a Babymetal reference - bonus points if you caught that!)

If you're interested, please use my referrer ID (I play under an alter-ego):
https://www.risingstargame.com?referrer=hrvargas

And please check out some of my T-shirt designs:
https://teespring.com/stores/bitcoin-shirt-and-swag

Sort:  

This post gives you one entry into the weekly prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post original high quality posts once a day and use the #risingstar tag to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

Join our curation trail to automatically upvote posts about Rising Star.

!BEER

Congratulations @cryptospooge! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Hey @cryptospooge, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.