Rising Star Ranking Update and Personal Progress Report

in #risingstar7 months ago

Hey Rising Stars.

We got a little surprise this week when the ranking algorithm was tweaked a bit.

Jux increased the weighting for Unique Cards and decreased it for Total Card count. The weighting for the score previously was:

Unique cards 40%
Total Card Count 30%
Total IM 20%
Weekly Minutes 10%

Now:

Unique cards 50%
Total Card Count 20%
Total IM 20%
Weekly Minutes 10%

For me, this is unusual in that it actually helps me. Most of the time when there is any kind of change to a game or app that I like, it usually (as in - almost always) works against me. But the strategy I have used since a few months after I started to play Rising Star is focused on getting as many Unique cards as I can.

And since I am just about to cross over the 1,000 unique cards count, it works for me. I woke up to see my ranking had bumped up to #83, the highest I have ever been. I feel a little vulnerable there, as most of the accounts in the neighborhood have Total Card counts well over 10,000 and I’m still just over 7,000. There aren’t very many of us under 10,000 cards in the top 100.

But I keep grinding every day, running missions, buying cards, etc. And I’ve been in the rankings ranging between #85 and #120 for a long time. It’s been working for two and half years so I’ll keep it going, sticking to my plan until it doesn’t work anymore.

I don’t see this update really changing too much in the rankings, though. What it will change long term is the price of out-of-print cards. They will continue to go up. It’s getting harder and harder for new players to get those older cards as the price is going way up on all of them.

Once the crypto boom kicks in again full blast, there will be a lot of people coming back to the game and even a lot of new people. That will put even more pressure on the price of those older cards.

My strategy was always to get as many of them as possible while I still could. I’m mostly only using in-game assets, so I’m limited in what or how much I buy at any given time. So, getting a lot of those older cards early has paid off. But the game always has new challenges and new ways to play. So we keep grinding.

Thank you internet, good night!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptospooge! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP