The grind is real...

in #risingstar4 years ago

I've hit somewhat of a milestone in Rising Star, so I thought I'd do a post.

Screenshot 20200815 at 08.00.56.png

I'm not going to talk about gameplay - plenty of posts about that on here and I suspect you've read a few already. But here's a little bit of why I like it enough to have completed 1500 missions.

Given that Rising Star is a game about music, let's get a music reference in early.

I like a good grind almost as much as Little Nicky. However, I suspect that she wan't playing Rising Star with Prince. I've always had a soft spot for games that let you plug away with a nice reward structure so it keeps you interested. Knowing this, it'll come as no surprise that I obsessed over Cookie Clicker for a while.

Rising Star delivers on the grind, but then adds buckets of other lovely stickiness on top.

The community is ace - loads of nice, friendly folk. Not least of which is Juxta, the driving force behind the game. The Discord channel is lively, with loads of activity because...

The game is being developed - new features, tweaks and chats about gameplay/mechanics/rewards often pop up in on Discord. I like this a lot, but could understand if some weren't so keen. (Literally as I was writing this post, I got a notification from the Discord channel saying a new mini-game has been added!!!)

It's a crypto game. You can literally earn money for playing. But - and here's the rub - that doesn't matter at all. Right now, my focus is on getting to the end of this section so I can audition folk for my band. Crypto is very much secondary to playing the game as far as I'm concerned. Which is a Very Good Thing Indeed.

In a game about music, there is actual music. This is a biggie - there's an in-game radio station that plays while you grind away. And you can submit your own music. I did 😄 Plenty of players are musicians (though that's not important at all), and so they have tunes that are on random rotation. Some of the regulars have even been immortalised as a Rising Star card! and thy've done an awesome thing of having each performer and instrument card have an associated snippet of music - from which you can build tunes as you build your band. Insane.

Following on from one of Juxta's earlier projects (AtomCollector), there's a regular Sunday online radio show, where you can hear more tunes from players and try to catch one of the prizes from random draws and other participation in the Rising Star story (I'll get a chance to win a card pack for this post!).

I've said a few times (and should write some posts about it, really) that a strong community is so important for stuff like this - and, indeed, indie musicians in general. I feel like I've found a good bunch of folk over at Rising Star.

So, I'm loving the RS grind. If you fancy getting involved (because that's what's possible as opposed to simply 'playing a game'), then sign your name on the dotted line...

https://www.risingstargame.com/

.g

Sort:  

Congratulations @gribbles! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store

Fantastic post and glad you are enjoying it. The community is indeed awesome and I love the vide we have!

This post gives you one entry into next week’s prize draw to win a 3 card Rising Star booster pack.
Post once a day and add the link to the #hive channel in our Discord to get more entries.

The prize draw takes place during our weekly live stream on Sundays.

!BEER


Hey @gribbles, here is a little bit of BEER from @risingstargame for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It is a cool game. I love the theme and the community. Just saw the new mini game. I really need to resist playing that. I actually wrote a simple version of it a few years ago.