You'll never know how much you have within you until you are being pushed to a place of desperation

in #risktaking6 years ago (edited)

This has happened to me a lot recently...

Imagine going in to a restaurant with an empty wallet...

Imagine planning a trip without sufficient budget...

Imagine dreaming first and committing to it without seeing the resources...

It all happened to me... I'm still alright until today... and I attempted to still be on my feet after this

Many people said, "Desperation is the mother of invention"

But desperation is the mother of innovation...

As I typing this now...

My housemates planned a family trip to another town... I personally don't seem to have the sufficient budget, but we committed to it, just yesterday, without telling anyone, one of the housemates mother decided to chip to our trip, which cut my cost of the trip by more than half...

Now I got into a Korean restaurant, wanting to plan my work, I knew I do have short of cash, some happens that in the very moment, I still decided to go in anyway... I realized all the coins that is in my bag and inside my car was more than enough to buy me drink...

I am not endorsing an attitude of reckless commitment nor staying broke...

but I reminded of this famous words by Paulo Coelho in his book Alchemist, "When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it."

And often only when you put yourself into a point of desperation, creative solutions came to being...

I am a songwriter too, I had a deadline to beat, and I need to finish writing a song just in time for an event...

Do I have to be so ambitious? Since I had writer's block for so long... yet I committed it first...

No lyrics, no tunes, no inspiration, only few strokes of chords and melodies...

In my desperation, out of no where, kneeing on the ground, desperation pushed me to the piano... On that very day... I finished the song and I was super proud of it, I beat the clock and just in time...

You'll never know how much you have within you until you are being pushed to a place of desperation

too many options sometimes kills us and leave us anxious, why not pull the plug on, put yourself in a place of desperation  and with limiting resources, and see what kind of creative and innovations will come your way...

Happy Creating and take risk!!

Sort:  

well written. keep it up bro!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @calvinlee to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Do more, Think less!
great post! :)