You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Road to SteemFest - Fears

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago

I have been in SE Asia for three years living on 80% street food. The trick is not to get anything out in the sun, and to look for crowds of locals. I have never been sick in all this time.

The bigger problem is dehydration for someone new to the tropics. You want to be drinking twice the amount of liquids you normally would. Not water, but juices or even electrolyte mix. Lack of salt and sugar did make me sick in my first weeks in Bangkok. I was in tthe ER and told to stop drinking only plain water. This helps.

Get a blow up or cushioned neck pillow for the plane trip and do your best to sleep. This is a good time for any kind of sleep aid if you have something like this.

If you are wandering around lonely, look for others in the corner alone and say hello.

That's all I got.

EXCEPT!

I won the conference fee, so I will be the old skinny white lady working the crowd as best I can instead of sitting out on the stoop.

See you there, my friend @slobberchops, and feel better soon!

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips, sleeping on planes is hard when they are cramped and your back is constantly hurting. Hope to see you there.

Well, yes, and hence the idea of some type of sleep aid or muscle relaxer for the trip, @slobberchops. Pacing the aisles for 12 hours is not a good way to go.

FYI - All pharmacies in central Bangkok have English speaking and Western trained professional staff. They are on almost any street you walk on and at the airport. If you are hurting, go in to any one of them and tell them what's up.

They will sell you narcotics or prednisone otc for very, very cheap - 10 - 20 pills usually. They do not do this for anyone off the street, but a Westerner in obvious pain, they will help.

There is no advil or aspirin in this region but they have panadol/tylenol in packs of 20 for cheap.

If you use magnesium oil for pain, bring it with you. It can get rid of cramps on the plane. This is very expensive here if you can find it.

OR

Go to the plane galley and get fruit juice, water and salt for cramps. They will give it free on a plane. I often need it.

I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, so completely know how you feel.