You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Road to Steemfest Free-Write // Well... this just got real.

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)

I did my first free-write ever for #roadtosteemfest. It was a bit scary because as I progressed into it, things started to get personal. Okay, not exactly personal, but it started with sharing of opinions that I would have edited out, had it not been a free-write. I knew after a couple of minutes that I was going to keep it short because if it went on, I would start sharing stuff that I'd rather not. At least not until my Steemit account is a bit older.

I am actually a bit jealous of how good your free-write is :-)

The 'no-editing' policy is a dual edged sword for a writer. On one hand you can't remove unrelated crap from your post but on the other hand a reader can get a much better insight into who you are........ and isn't that the purpose of this all? It might not seem like much to others, but for a guy who hasn't even shared a personal picture here on Steemit, that is some pressure to handle.

This comment is getting far from the topic............ the thing is that before coming to Poland, I was living in France and when I came here, I couldn't believe how cheap everything was (as compared to other parts of Europe). I am hopeful that people will find Krakow to be much less expensive then they originally thought.

As for travel – Folks who are coming directly to Poland from outside Europe, the chances are that they are going to land in Warsaw. Krakow is like 3 hours from Warsaw and it’s a nice, clean and safe city. It’s actually the cultural heart of Poland. Although it’s the second largest city here but frankly it’s not that big (you can go to a lot places just by walking)

I'll try to go to Krakow in a few weeks to check out some hotels and review them for Steemians here. Hopefully it’ll help people to come up with a much clearer picture of their travel plans.

Sort:  

hhahaha! Me too. I was writing this damn free-write thinking, damn, I shouldn't have said that - Oh well! It's on the blockchain now!

I really look forward to your reviews on the hotels.

lol so many blockchain shame moments for me even AFTER I edit my posts. Sometimes I'll read old ones a few monthts later and be like oh man, why did I say that?! Haha looks like I'm not the only one @princessmewmew! The struggle is real

Yes it is! I wanna stay true to the challenge but I don’t want to write crap!

Oooh i can't wait to go read your free-write! I'm still just so excited that we get to meet in Poland. It's even cooler to me that I'm traveling across the world and already have a friend that is a local. I think your idea to head into Krakow to check out some hotels and review them is brilliant ... like freaking brilliant. I know that I and many other steemians would find that helpful. You could even give tips on awesome restaurants to hit up (especially ones that are within walking distance of the event)... Maybe do a post talking about the BEST places to get perogies ... The possibilities of content are endless for you!! :)

Cool to hear that Krakow is the cultural heart of Poland... that sounds amazing and I can't wait to explore the city.

I think free-writing is a really cool way to glimpse into someone's mind. Usually when we write - we just see the more edited and polished thoughts. With free-writing, you get to glimpse the imbetween moments that string all these different thoughts and ideas together. It's a pretty intimate experience to witness that for someone else because everyone's brains and how they work are sooo different. Super fascinating.

"but it started with sharing of opinions that I would have edited out, had it not been a free-write. " <-- at least you were honest. I'll have to read that.

That would be so awesome of you to check out hotels in Krakow if you could! Although I always just pick something random and wing it haha. So far its worked out