From Iceland to Poland ✈️ My Road to SteemFest³

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

I've already laid down my basic way to SteemFest³ in my previous post.. I'm native polish living currently in Iceland, so coming to SteemFest will be coming back home for me! And as I wrote before - I am super thrilled about it!

The Physical Road


To get there, I will actually visit many cities on the way. I live in Reykjavík, the capital, which has no international airport on itself. To fly out of Iceland you need to drive to Keflavik, which is about 50km far. I don't have a car, so how will I get there? Well, as a receptionist I have a privlidge to use an airport transport complimentary! My flight is in the evening and I will land in Wrocław on 2nd of November.


Icelandic glacier seen from the plane.

Wrocław is one of the most beautiful cities in Poland, really worth visiting if you have any chance. I'll be there about midnight. Since SteemFest starts at 7th, I am going home for a few days. From Wrocław I have to take a train to Sulechów, a small city in western Poland where I grew up. I will propably need to take a train to Zielona Góra, where I attented my highschool, and then a bus to my hometown... During these few days at home I will be very busy - I need to run some errands there, like going to see a doctor, picking some mail and packages from post office, things like that. But most importantly I will spent some time with my family, as I have not seen them for few months now. I am a little bit afraid I will eat half of my parents kitchen as I really miss polish food here in Iceland...


Hitch-hiking somewhere in Iceland. Wait, what's that logo on my arm? Do you recognize it?

On the morning of 7th of November I will take a train or a blablacar going to Kraków. There I will be hosted by of my dearest friends, which unfortunately is not on Steemit yet! I am really looking forward to meet her and I'm expecting having a hard time struggling to balance having fun at SteemFest and spending some time with her. I've visited Kraków many times and I always love coming back to that city. Can't wait to see how you guys will appretiate this wonderful piece of architecture and culture. And food of course! I hope you'll have a chance to eat proper pierogi in Poland!

After the SteemFest I have to go back to Wrocław, where I have a flight back on 12th of November. And then it goes the same way... From Keflavik to Reykjavík by bus, and from the bus stop to my flat by foot! It'll be hard to come to work next day having all these memories from Poland and SteemFest in my mind, but... let's experience them first, mmkay?



Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

Don't forget to visit some museum in Wroclaw - just look on map for "Pawilon Czterech Kopuł" :)

I want have time for that! I'll be just passing by Wrocław

That sounds like quite a journey so I hope you enjoy Steemfest, meet new friends, learn a lot, and share your highlights and pictures here.

Iceland is on my list of places to visit, but it's too cold for me to live there, although I loved Lapland last year. Being a tourist is a lot different to being a local though.

I enjoyed skiing, and the people , in Bulgaria, and loved the baltic states but have yet to visit Poland, so I'll try to look you up if I ever do go and ask for advice on where to visit and what to see.

P.S Pllease try to post pics of the Northern lights this season. It was great to knock them off my 'bucket list' 2 years ago.

Feel free to contact me If you'd like to visit Poland, I'll try to advise!

Regarding auroras - I have really bad luck with this, as I always miss the great ones and saw a proper aurora only twice (and it was not super strong too). But I still have a few months to catch an intense one ;)

Pierogi - do it yourself :)
https://steemit.com/polish/@kuchniawedwoje/pierogi-ruskie-przepis-krok-po-kroku
I will not be able to attend Steemfest but I am really impress people like you - that traveling abroad for this event.