You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Orca! + The Road to Steem Fest | The Thai Life and what to expect

but because you are going to Steemfest!

I had to think hard about this one. The journey is what I fear, it's just too far and my back is not good these days.

I'm still struggling a bit to find time to focus on Steemit

Curation is the deal now, you can do less and do more at the same time. There's less posts, but you need to vote the good ones that are making the effort.

And I am definitely going to take your advice and readjust my autovoting time

Yes, this is important and many have not even made the changes from HF20 and are voting at 30 minutes. (@katharsisdrill)!

Sort:  

AHA! So the rules have changed!

I have used all my mental energy on keeping up my downvote power so my Dolphin MIGHT can hit as hard as possible. The new and even sadder Bitbottophant was hit by Mr. Crystal today, then upvoted! then unvoted, then downvoted again. No voting power though! He seem distressed, almost demented.

I will update my auto-voter.

They did, around a year ago! .., HF20 told us to vote at 15 mins or thereabouts... HF21 is now optimal at 4-5 minutes.

Crystal still doesn't get it, about voting and flagging, best he doesn't really.

Seems Crystal and I have something in common. But as they say:

I'm just a jester, not an investor.

Re-curation, @exyle was saying something similar about 10 days ago. I need to seriously look into this (but already I'm getting distractions). I need to get focused. With your account worth about $10K this curation increase will make a big difference - with mine, a small difference.
A while ago, when Steem was worth about 21 cents, I had a look at an account that was worth $100K. This guy was writing a "meh" post (a couple of grades above shitposts) every day, self-voting, and making about $65 per post. I worked out that he was earning more by doing that than I make from renting out a flat that I bought for £73K in 2007 (it's now worth about £98K). And I see that as a good investment - I never have problems finding a good tenant, and I've never had missed rent.
It shows that even when Steem is very low, it can be a more lucrative investment, (although a much riskier one) than bricks and mortar. That alone should be pushing the Steem price up, if only the market had the rationality to see it!
Now, with rewards 50:50-ish, you don't even have to self-vote in order to make your investment pay. You can actually earn significant ROI from rewarding quality work.

Now, with rewards 50:50-ish, you don't even have to self-vote in order to make your investment pay.

You make a good point. I have been self-voting from the start but am thinking about ditching it. I can use that VP elsewhere and gain as much or more if it's done wisely.

I stopped self-voting soon after joining Steemit, because I realised that my self-votes were worthless. But if your self-vote is worth a significant amount, it could be seen as a reward for your investment of time and money.