Robot Trucks

in #robots7 years ago


.......................................................................................................
Looks like I bailed out just in time.

Actually 'auto pilot' on the interstate is an easy thing to do. Any moron can drive on the interstate safely.
(that tells you something about how stupid the people are that have wrecks on the interstate)
the hard part is city traffic. Let the robot do the easy part..then the driver will do the hard part.
Win-win.

Sort:  

Hey @everittdmickey,

whole industry will change in the next 5-10 years. I see it happening as I work in the automotive industry. Sales for radars in cars have gone skyrocketing. Our customers, the final car manufactures have gone crazy, Two years ago they wanted a capacity for 800.000/year, now they want 6000000/year and I'm speaking only of one series.

Last year, got some information, that most of the companies are using Nvidia chips for the self driving cars. I bought some shares at 23$, they are ae around 130$. They gained massive wind with this.

It's Amazing man :)

that robo truck will need major reprogramming to be able to drive on the streets of manila.. :)

(shrug) so it won't
drive in manilla
how will that work out for manilla?

just saying.. it's a mess out here.

I was an over the road, long haul truck driver for 25 years.

that was quite a long time. If you could count the miles you drove, the total could probably circle the earth several times over. I'm relatively new to this rock. I couldn't say I've done something meaningful for 25 years.

I reckon we will be seeing lots more in the next few years. As a baby boomer I have seen many changes and it is accelerating year by year. Good post.

thank you.
the acceleration is accelerating..

.

.

Have you read Future Shock by Ivan Toffler?

the day after it was published. AND it's sequels.
why?

Just interested, the theories he put forward then were quite ahead of their time in my opinion and your acceleration curve brought him to mind.

for the time he was right.
for now..he's old news.
his predictions were MUCH to pessimistic.

Totally out there.
When it comes to highway accidents in Sweden though, most happen in the winter, when it starts snowing. Things become unpredictable. I wonder how a robot will behave then. I mean it can get freaky.

I suspect a robot will do MUCH better than a millenial who is texting while driving....in the snow...

Haha, I just pictured THAT happening...

I don't have to picture it happening.
I've witnessed it ten thousand times..

great video. thanks for sharing

It's great! And I like the music)

very astute critique.

I agree that can be a win-win, but, I would not entrust my life in the name of such an experiment. At least, not yet!

you would rather trust your life to a distracted momma who is driving a minivan while texting, putting on makeup, and swatting kids in the back seat?
you are doing that right now.
35K deaths a year.
if only ONE LIFE is saved....

We are talking about a human being here! Until the opposite, yes, I would entrust her!

35K a year trust her..and they die.

Yap, this stat doesn't help!

most people are idiots.
they should NOT be driving.
replace them with robots.

Unfortunately, I know a few of them!😳

wow amazing .. thanks for the share

Its dangerous, bcos since uts a robot it has to be backed up wiyh some programming, and if so it could be hacked... Steemit first supercars blogger said hello if you like super heavy cars checkout our blog

are teen age drivers dangerous?

Interesting, imperfect man builds robo truck, people deem it safer than other people's driving. As a former driver myself, I have yet to see one of these robo trucks tackle anything worth mentioning. So I'll hold further opinions until then.

just curious..what did you drive, how far and how long?

I hauled fuel driving Petes and KW's.

MY baby...small company trailer...light load.
3 million miles...25 years.
I had every endorsement there was at one time.

3 million is impressive! You've probably been behind the wheel as long as I've been alive. We don't rack up a lot of miles hauling fuel, at least I didn't. It range from 5miles to 100 miles tops...per day.

I've been known to do a thousand miles between the time I woke up and the time I laid my head down. I didn't say I was %100 legal..sometimes the load needed to GET there..like the time I was doing disaster relief for Katrina.

My point is..that in all that time...in all those miles ...I've made some observations and from them come to some conclusions.

People, in general, are piss poor drivers.
it wouldn't take much of a robot to do a better job.

Interesting, you must have seen some serious shit if you're advocating for the replacement human drivers. I mean that is exactly whats going to happen. Why would they spend millions on robot trucks to only drive part of the way? Not gonna happen. This will replace human drivers.

Anyhow, I'm not going to argue that there is some shitty drivers....sure, and they all work for Swift lol Seriously though, I think if a person did some digging they would see that more than the majority of truck involved wrecks are the result of cars. You can't drive 3 million miles and tell me you've never had a close call with a car. I used to have cars cut me off all the time or pull in front of me only to slam on their brakes and turn. Keep in mind, I hauled fuel, basically a bomb on wheels and no one cared. I couldn't plow throuigh them like I was hauling dry van and I couldn't dodge them either. Liquids is a different animal. Slamming on my brakes would only cause the fluids to slam into the bulkhead pushing me forward. Dodging them would cause the fluid to slosh causing me to loose control and possible flip over. Cars didn't care, they thought I could stop on a dime like i'm driving a Ferrari or something.

3 million is impressive! You've probably been behind the wheel as long as I've been alive. We don't rack up a lot of miles hauling fuel, at least I didn't. It range from 5miles to 100 miles tops...per day.

25 years on the truck...I drove over a hundred thousand miles when I was hauling 'lega' (not permitted loads)...sometimes much more than that. Later, when I specialized in oversize and heavy haul I drove less.

upvote,comment and reestem this post
Follow.@musliadi

Sorry, I do not know if this is a problem. I do not know if this is a problem.

I'm sorry, I do not know if this is a problem. I mean to share.