Rock Classics edition #46 - REO Speedwagon

in #rockclassics2 years ago

8 Monate vergangen seit dem letzten Rock Classics Post - es wird wieder Zeit für alte Mucke, aus der AoR Ecke der 1980er - REO Speedwagon, war nie mein absolutes Ding, aber sie haben ganz guten Mainstream Rock produziert, wie immer habe ich manche Perlen noch nicht behandelt - Rock and Hive On - lasst mich wissen, was Ihr von der Band haltet und dem Tag generell

Rock Classics is back after usual long break, this time indeed 8 months since the last one

Originally I created this music tag in the early days of the chain when it was still called Steemit. Many thanks again for the ongoing contributors such as @detlev and @alexvan - grew up with that music even I themn moved more over thje Techno, but still love the old sounds a lot.

Today - REO Speedwagon

A classic AoR band I came across during my times as the biggest Foreigner fan on Earth - the music was good, was not a major fan of the lead singer voice by Kevin Cronin but it reminds me of the goood ole younger years - who even knows that band?

The entry song is the probably most known track of them back from 1984 - a year of rock ballads followded by two more blad hymns of the century hardly anyone of this bockchain was even planned to be born:

Some stats about the guys

Due to our friends from Wikipedia check the numbers but before that enjoy a duett of Kevin with his beautiful daughter that for sure has a convincing voice:

And here is to some facts about Kevin and his friends (source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/REO_Speedwagon):

REO Speedwagon been founded already (jesus even older than myself) in 2967 in the US in a city or region called Champaign, Illinois.

However it took them until the 80ies for real commercial success - hence hive guys - patience!

The group's best-selling album, Hi Infidelity (1980), contained four US top 40 hits and sold more than 10 million copies. Over the course of their career, the band has sold more than 40 million records and has charted 13 top 40 hits, including the number ones "Keep On Loving You" and "Can't Fight This Feeling". REO Speedwagon's mainstream popularity waned in the late 1980s, but the band remains a popular live act.

I will stay away of writing the stats of formation years, early days and later success which you can check on Wikipedia - hope some of guys like sound and the story of the band (and Kevin's daughter :-)) - keep on rocking!

Sort:  

Good to see one of these again, I don't see many music posts anymore. If my brain hadn't already been dumped on the chain I would do some.

Thx dude, same - but i am also guilty as of real life things - currently rersearching who i missed of the old times that I also like :-)

I'm kind of thinking my content is getting a little samey, like all 'Tales of the...'. Something different would be good. I am a music freak, so will see what I can dig up.

First and foremost I never knew we had rock classics, I only knew about rock and rolls and I love that but @uwelang just made me find out that we have rock classics and it is really cool all listened rocks classics were very pleasant to my hearing and to be honest kevin and he's daughter did pretty well on stage please 🥺 update more.