You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Riverhead Update Week of August 1st, 2016

in #rocketchat8 years ago (edited)

A busy week, congratulations.

May I ask two questions? TNX!

  1. what is your opinion - Rocket Chat vs MatherMost ? (I hope that this question isn't too rude since you've invested a lot of time into Steemit.chat setup :) )

  2. what about the recent mining situation with many miners with almost the same name?

Thanks a lot!

Sort:  

Answers:

  1. No opinion yet as we haven't had a real stress test on mattermost. I am solution agnostic so if mattermost has more efficient code and a better feature set I'd support the change. The time invested is a lot but it's also time that's been paid for by the steem platform (witness).

  2. The way mining is implemented in steem pretty much requires it. Once a miner hits the mining queue they are on a linear path up the queue until they produce a block. Since that miner account is idle during that time another account is needed to keep the hardware burning. Multiple accounts with similar names is an easy way for miners to manage and track their resources. I don't see it as an issue but an artifact of the architecture.

Cheers,
James.

Cool and thanks a lot for both answers. You have my vote as a witness :)

I asked the first question because at my office we are also in the process of rethinking the options. Ditch Slack for what... ?

I asked the second question because I might go into mining business :) But the waiting line looks mighty long...