A Role Model Steemian – It’s Never Too Early To Give Back

in #rolemodel6 years ago


role.jpg
Source

The title of a “role model” often sounds so heavy to me. I think those shoes are a little too big because being a role model comes with a lot of responsibilities – and standing up to these responsibilities is the true nature of a role model. Thank you @anomadsoul for listing those qualities as a yardstick for being a role model Steemian. I do tick the boxes, so I guess I’m a role model of some sort on here lol, and that makes me eligible to participate in this contest.

As you aptly pointed out, being a role model is beyond ticking the boxes of set standards, it has to be something deeper that stems from one’s desire to make an impact without seeking public validation.

For me, being a role model Steemian is by making my own contributions, no matter how little, to the growth of the steemit community.

These are the little ways I try to make the community a better place.

I give back to the community by organizing contests

Yay! I’m so excited about this. I consider myself a newbie on Steemit as I am barely 2 months old on this platform. Regardless, I decided to start giving back to the community by enriching fellow writers especially those who are just starting out like me. I could have waited to gain more grounds on Steemit before giving back, but I figured it’s never too early to give back. I decided to start with the little resources (SBD) that I have to encourage other Steemians to keep writing and posting. I have just organised my first contest – My Story My Truth - to reward winners, and I hope to make it a regular contest.

I acknowledge and encourage writers who post works of good quality

It takes a lot of hard work and time to write a good post. Anyone could write a post, but the difference is clear when someone puts in work in their post as they end up with a great post. In a community where most people post things just to earn some bucks, I think it’s important to give those who go the extra mile a thumbs up. When I read a post that I consider to be of good quality, I take a moment to let the writer know how much I enjoyed reading their post, and encourage them to keep it up.

I give constructive criticism where necessary

If we all came on here to post our content and leave, we’d be taking so much away from the community without putting much into it. Steemit has become some sort of medium of engagement for me. When I read posts that strike a chord in me, I engage the writer by giving a constructive criticism of their work. I believe that we can all do better if people showed interest in our works. Constructive criticism opens our eyes to some oversights and helps us to fine-tune our crafts.

What do I blog about?

I consider myself a versatile Writer. But I find myself blogging more about inspirational and motivational content on Steemit. Perhaps it's because I want to inspire people to reach for the sky and be the best they can be.

If the Steem Power is delegated to me, I will use it to further encourage fellow Writers by powering their posts. Lest I forget, I’m a member of the Air-Clinic community on Discord. It’s been a great experience learning more about living a healthy life. They say charity begins at home, I'll start by helping members of the Air-Clinic community with the Steem Power.

Sort:  

Oh, this is a sort of application for a contest? I only realized at the end. Good thing you put in the "contest" tag :) I love everything you write, I follow you now (sooo creepy, haha) and will participate in your writing contest. I came here to wrote (and also make reading fun and interactive) and got derailed somehow... Hope you get delegated some steem, it is very much needed to get more. And I will also come around and give you constructive feedback :) (using the sandwich technique ;)

Thanks @cyoadventuregame. Lol @ constructive feedback. You are welcome to join the contest.