My life, summarized

in #romance8 years ago

My father, Reuven Gold, was the only professional Hasidic storyteller (mostly rabbinical stories) in Chicago, Illinois. He died in 1988. My mother is the smartest person I know. I am very lucky in that I inherited her incredible physique. I am grateful for the strengths I inherited, was taught and learned from my parents.

I've always been interested in how things work. The first school of higher education I applied to asked "what are your interests?" I started with A; astronomy, biology... and ended with Z; Zoology. I could have used many letters in the alphabet may times; math, metaphysics, metallurgy, Mesopotania, minerology... The space available on the page helped me restrain myself.

I was in the USAF, "working on some of the most sophisticated electronic equipment in the world", as an ECM (Electronic CounterMeasures) technician.

All was quiet for a time. Blissfully boring.

Then, I explored the world by bicycle. I rode my bicycle all over the USA, 15,000 miles in 2 years on a bicycle that weighed 225 pounds when I was 48 years old. I had plans of riding all over the world. But, I found crossing borders to be more difficult than crossing oceans. It was incredibly fun, exciting, empowering and enlightening.

I decided to relocate, from Massachusetts to Arizona - on my new recumbent bicycle - visit with mom and sis (near Chicago and St. Louis respectively) along the way. So, there I was, riding through the middle of Kansas when someone pulled over in front of me: "I got to ask, where are you coming from and where are you going to?"

Those were the first words my wife spoke to me. This stranger offered her farmland for me to camp at if needed. I graciously accepted her offer and left the next day. She gave me her business card in case she could somehow help. The next day, I found I had to go back to Massachusetts for a short time.

I asked that lady I just met, Joni, if I could work several days on her farm while I waited for the less expensive airplane fare back to Massachusetts. "Sure, find something to keep you busy." My handyman skills came into play, chopping down trees, caring for her donkeys and cleaning out a garage. We became friends.

I left, stayed in Massachusetts for a few weeks, returned, got my bike and planned to ride on. Joni said she planned logistics for groups that walked across the USA - where to camp, where to eat, local resources, she could do that for me over the phone. I asked her what took her so long coming into my life, could have used you years ago. Then, I rode on to Arizona.

I lived in Las Vegas for 10 years but never went to see the Grand Canyon. Always a reason not to go. I told Joni, when I crossed into New Mexico, "This time, before I start looking for work and a place to stay, I am going to see the Grand Canyon!" Joni said she had never seen it either. (a seed was planted) Maybe, we could see it together?

But... (she had reasons not to go) she could not take a vacation on such short notice. She could not leave her donkeys and her dog alone, without someone to care for them. And, driving all that way, alone, did not appeal. Oh well, so much for that.

Then, her friends called. They were going to work at the state fair coming up in a few days, could they park their camper on her farm and stay there during the fair? Joni asked then you are going to drive back to Tucson, ARIZONA? Yes, of course... why? Joni said, I want to drive my car back with you to Arizona.

Now, you might know, the first time something happens in your life will be the only time it is the first time. I knew the Grand Canyon was pretty and big. And I knew it would be a pretty big thing for each of us, seeing it for the first time in our lives. So, when we got there, on the South Rim, just after sunset, on the Fall Equinox, I had to propose to Joni. Because there would never be a better time.

Sort:  

What a wonderful love story!

Thank you nubchai. It makes me cry joyful tears each time I tell the story of our meeting. Joyful is just one of many feelings and I am not big enough to contain them all.

When can I add pictures? Or, how can I add pictures?

I am delighted to be the first arigold to login to Steemit. Nobody claimed to be Ari Gold https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ari_Gold_(Entourage). Ari Gold, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ari_Gold_(filmmaker) did not claim ownership of this monicker. Nor did Ari Gold, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ari_Gold_(musician). https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ari_Gold_(Entourage). Amazing, got to be quick! Or lucky.