Slog | Trip on homeland with living in the nature (IXX) | since 2013

in #rooting7 years ago (edited)

20170930 Translated from Slovene


Number of connected (e-mail): 137
Followers (STEEM): 217


Phone root and custom rom

2013 on November 3, I took a new phone from my home network operator. During this period, there were 2 models of 2 companies, among which I have chosen. I have chosen at least for my needs the more durable and not the look of the finer. The leaner had instead of a plastic glass back and in my activities along the way, plastic is more appropriate.
Of course, I knew before that, that the system I use since I came to smartphones with a touch screen, it's not written to my skin because it contains proprietary software from several large companies like for example. The phone manufacturer itself gives some of their own programs, then the manufacturer of the operating system and ultimately the operator. This type of software is called "bloatware". Everything would be nice and right if you could completely remove all of this from the phone and gain space and other benefits such as faster responsiveness of the device, battery life and privacy and could still be counting more.
During this period, I did not have the appropriate knowledge and time to deal with this stuff. At the end, I would have had enough of time if I had the necessary knowledge before.
It's gonna be four years from now that I have this phone. Of course, he suffered several inconveniences throughout the entire period. In August 2014 I burst the screen. A smooth and still waterproof phone. In 2015, I discovered that the battery is going to the end, but I adjusted the mode of use and in most cases I charged the batery more slowly over the laptop or the laptop. I started using the laptop as a power bank. In 2016 I was flow away to protector of USB and the phone became no waterproof. A week ago it did not start anymore. I found that the battery was dangerous because it was a bit inflated. Even after the replacement there is no help. By myself tried to do a lot of different variants to be able to restart it.
Fortunately, I got a new phone from the same manufacturer version 7 about seven months ago, which is a waterproof version that is not intended for major activities, but it's not always possible to have everything. About 14 days before my old phone stopped working, I successfully managed the ROOT new phone and uploaded the system to my specifications. ROOT or the super user access to the system allows us to manage the system in depth since we have all rights assigned. As I mentioned earlier, I can not have everything. I do not receive certain functionality despite the fact that the phone supports, for example, a fast charging version 3, now I charge as any normal phone. This is because certain phone equipment on your phone requires drivers and software owned by a manufacturer of telephones or other companies that manufacture hardware, or have certain licenses to use this software and drivers.
The system I currently use is built on free software and open source. It is still possible to install proprietary software on this system, but I try to avoid this by searching for alternative programs and I write to companies to start their software program in free and open code and to use Android applications not based on the architecture placed on one of these corporations.
Since I do not have a GP, I use Fdroid and Yalp Store.

Screenshot - 09292017 - 05:24:14 PM.png

The example of the Y application is accessible to google play and is based on the GSF = google service framework or is not based on gsf. This can be seen from the Yalp Store application I use.

photo5943050121715493472.jpg

Since Android is written in an open source code, it's possible to see insde into the code as it is written and this is, of course, for all those who know it. They can easily see errors and repair them or add new features under the same conditions so each developer has the same options in the future. For all others, the advantage is that this code is safer because errors can be quickly fixed and updated. This gives us greater stability, privacy and security. Of course, "free software" gives us some other goods.
Before I downloaded Lineage OS, I root phone. In this way we lose in most cases a guarantee. There is a procedure that allows you to return in the opposite direction to the starting point with all the software as when you received a new phone.
At the moment, I have the challenge of losing important data from the 2FA - Two Factor Autentication with the old phone - this is a 2-step verification. For example, when you sign in to your e-mail, you must have a phone besides your password, which generates a new code every 30 seconds, and does not require an active internet connection for operation. In this way, your e-mail is protected with 1 additional level of security, you need your memory "password" and device to get a "code", which allow you access. 2FA did not have a backup feature in the old phone, so if the phone does not turn on I do not have access. Now I have already found a suitable solution for new 2FA in new phone that has more options for me. The program itself supports several things, such as backup, encryption and synchronization. On top of this, I needed a security program for encryption, and in the case of synchronization (I'll probably do it manual) also Tor client on the phone. Perhaps for someone complicated, but in the next section, "Transition, Free Software and Open Source", I would have presented one of today's technologies, theories, programs ... in more detail and talk about this topic.

Procedure:

I followed this version and steps in and get help with this video (in this video, some files have different names), the problem is that the text is fixable, as for example, on the web pages most of the time to be corrected, but the video mostly must be re-recorded. In both cases, I had a challenge with Odin as the first of course I have GNU / Linux Debian and I needed to find a suitable PC with Windov$ and I only needed the app to run as an administrator, otherwise, it did not want to detect the phone via USB. On the channel of the user who also introduced Lineage OS I among other videos actually found these directions. My SIM card still did not come in line to put it on the phone. Anyway, I did not intend to do this until there was a new system on the phone.

Future:

To Lineage OS I intend to add at least 1-2 more systems, like Helios OS, Debian, a truncated version of the system I have on my laptop and a few days ago found https://pureos.net/ which is a Debian derivative and is/will be fully customized for mobile devices.

ATTENTION:
Everyone is responsible by yourself to explore what you can do with your phone. Be aware that you may also be unsuccessful and your phone becomes a brick.


See also:


similar post: SI: Slog | Trip on homeland living in nature (XII) | since 2013
older post: SI: Transition, free software, open source (V)
book: The creature from Jekyll Island
Steemit tool: STEEM Follower
My Website

Sort:  

Congratulations @fire-fly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!