Roswell, New Mexico | Pilot Review

in #roswell5 years ago

roswell_new_mexico.jpg

This Review of the Pilot will contain spoilers, if you have not seen the Roswell, New Mexico Pilot Episode.

Roswell, New Mexico aired and I finally caught a preview after all the hype. The original Roswell, is one of my favorite series of all time and I was happy we got some version of it after 20 years (geez has it really been that long.)

The original Roswell, I believe would of done a lot better if it had the promotion that Roswell is getting. Roswell did lack the kind of heavy promoting that the remake got. It was ahead of its time.

What did I like about the premiere?

I like how they keep some elements of the original. Liz getting shot, Max telling her the truth, and most of the characters that were in the original are in the original. This version doesn't have Sheriff Valenti. Instead, its Kyle's mom who is the sheriff and Kyle is a doctor but other then that, most the characters from the original are there in some form.

There are similar storylines with Isobel with Isabel from the original. In the original, Isabel marries a guy without telling him her true identity. We will probably have that covered in the remake as well.

I do like the chemistry between the new Liz and Max but right now doesn't feel as strong as the original.

roswell-new-mexico-h_2018.jpg

What I have mix feelings about?

The twist at the end with Michael turning out to be gay and in a heated relationship with Alex. I know in the original they probably struggled fitting Alex into the show with storylines. I guess it gets boring when all males in the cast are with all females in the cast. I think this is there way to mix it up but it will make a lot of Michael and Maria fans unhappy. I personally think, Michael is doing some detective work to protect the group because Alex did just get back from Baghdad.

roswell.jpg

Conclusion
One thing I would like to see is the support of the original cast, which I believe most are on board with it. I knew that the original Liz is actually directing an upcoming episode. So we got Original Liz giving remake Liz maybe some new material to sharpen her character's storyline up. Things like this will be great. I also hope we see cameos from the original cast. The way I look at it, its a way to expand on similar storylines from the original that we didn't get a chance to see.

One thing I hope the remake does is get more exposure to the original. I wouldn't be surprised if new fans watched this show, got into it and learned its a remake of a original from 1999- 2001. I hope this gets more fans on the original and hopefully we can get more campaigns to resurrect the original somehow with maybe a movie or maybe get the original released on blu-ray. Things like that but having two themed shows about the same story might be confused. It worked for The Walking Dead.

There are a lot of new things to get use to. It didn't hook me quite like the original did but I'll be watching. It always takes a couple of episodes to develop where the story is going . Obliviously, going forward it looks like the story is going to focus on what happened to Rosa and keeping a lid on protecting Max, Michael and Isobels true identity