You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eagle and Octopus - Haiku - And an interesting metaphor on our nation's current struggles

No argument, and I've made this point myself, quite recently in fact, which is why as a general rule I stay away from politics in social media as well.

But I disagree that most of our GOP politicians actually believe what they are saying. I don't believe that most of them are stupid; I believe that they are criminally corrupt, and will do anything to keep our Criminal-in-Chief in office, no matter what it does to our nation long term.

They have, quite clearly and consciously, chosen party over country, and are thus truly traitors.

Besides, Marek's analogy was just too perfect for me not to pass it along.

An orange octopus, a cold-blooded multi-tentacled creature, trying to drown a warm-blooded air-breathing bald eagle, the symbol of our nation and of our freedoms; but failing in the end, because good and decent people intervened to prevent it from happening.

Call me naive, and I'll readily admit it may be wishful thinking on my part, but I'm still hoping and praying for the miracle that forces GOP senators to rediscover their spines and do the right thing.

And, at the same time, Trump has been increasingly erratic in recently months, and now that he is actually going to be impeached, he may well do something so unhinged and heinous that even the Republicans finally say "Enough is enough. No more."

And no, I'm not holding my breath.

Sort:  

Clearly, I am speaking of our politicians when I say that I don't believe that they are saying what they believe, but rather what is expedient for their current political goals.

Clearly Trump's rank and file followers, at least many of them, DO believe the pablum they've been fed for the past four years and more.

Thankfully, many have seen through the lies and have jumped ship, but for those who are true believers, I have no animosity toward them, and agree that anything I say is unlikely to change their minds.

Which is one of the reasons why I am such a supporter of better early childhood education, as we as a nation need to start teaching logic and critical thinking skills at a MUCH earlier age.

There are many reasons why our students are lagging behind internationally, but most of it comes down to the way the Republican party has banded together to eviscerate our educational system for the past four decades and counting.

Less federal interference at the classroom level would go a long way toward helping to ameliorate the problems.

The way we teach math, as just one example, has been categorically proven to be the LEAST effective way for students to learn, and if we would simply start using the many ways proven to BE effective, our students would be doing far better overall.

My dad taught in the LA City School System for nearly thirty years, and we had a lot of conversations along these lines, as I have with a number of friends who are teachers. We could be doing SOOOOO much better, with the same money or less, if we would simply eliminate EVERY administrator who is not qualified to teach in the classroom.